Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good recipe! I just sprinkled powedered sugar over mine instead of the glaze, and it tasted just as good. I also made sure to add 1/2 cup of raisins, it creates more texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Ridiculously easy to make and oh so good. We skipped the frosting and are having them for breakfast. Delicious with dried currants added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My bars were more like cake because I doubled the recipe but still used a 9X13 pan. I think another reviewer suggested using just one egg to make them more bar like. I also added 2/3 c. of raisins and one peeled, finely chopped apple. They taste good and are really moist. I sprinkled powdered sugar on top instead of doing the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I baked in an 8x8 pan, and added 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup raisins. I chose to skip the icing in this recipe and topped it with cream-cheese frosting instead. With my changes, I wouldn't call these bars -- it was a cake. But it was a DELICIOUS cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIBYLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this was a very simple, easy bar to make. i doubled the recipe and made it in 9 x 13 pan. had i not, the bar would have been much too thin for me. the spices were tasty, but i did not find anything special about this bar. it's not that i didn't like it.... i just wasn't wowed. i didn't find it memorable. i will keep looking for another applesauce bar/cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
These are tasty bars. I baked them in an 11 x 7 inch dish and they were pretty thin. I can't imagine how thin they would be in a 9 x 13 inch dish. I frosted them with cream cheese frosting I had leftover from another recipe. These taste great and thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was delicious! I added raisins, might try some walnuts next time too. I had to make two batches of icing to cover the whole 9x13 pan, and it needed a little extra milk to make it easy to spread. Just wish there was a way to make it a little healthier, with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Delicious! perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
very good & moist even w/out frosting. baked in 8x8 pna for 20 min & added raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These were phenomenal I must say. But.. the frosting was a bit sweet, and it ended up more like a cake. Carrot cake w/out the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Branch, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States