Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Sorry to rate it so low, but it was much too sweet. I took the advice of others and reduced the amount of sugar to 1 cup and I still couldn't eat it. It's more like a sweet and sour/duck sauce than the barbeque sauce I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This tastes just as good as the famous apple bbq sauce served at Montana's restaraunt, and so easy to make. I spread it over chicken and bake in the oven, brushing more on every 15 minutes or so to get a nice thick coating as it bakes on. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I can't believe this recipe has 5 stars! It is WAY WAY too sweet, and I cut down on the amount of sugar used. None of my family liked the taste. Definitely would not recommend or make again. Needs some major tweaking to be acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I used a little more than half the sugar and I thought the sauce was delicious! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Excellent! I am rather picky about my barbeque sauce. Most bottled varieties do not agree with my stomach, so I usually avoid barbeque sauce altogether. However tonight I was looking for something different to make for dinner, and found this recipe. I made 1/2 batch of it and used it on boneless pork chops. Amazing! I changed a few things as per other reviewers' suggestions. For 1/2 batch I: cut the sugar in half, using only a scant 1/2 cup; added 1/2 teaspoon of dried onion flakes; and added 1/4 teaspoon of Frank's Red Hot Sauce, for heat. All of the other ingredients I left the same, in the proportions as stated (for 1/2 batch). Next time I think I will cut the sugar even more, probably use 1/3 cup. And I will add more Frank's Hot Sauce because my husband and I like our sauce to have a bit more of a kick. Overall, this recipe is great, and the texture from the applesauce is wonderful. I noticed right away that it does not have that "chemically" taste that bottled sauces have. Very fresh, tangy, and tasty--this will definitely become my standard barbeque sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This dish was a hit with my picky 7 year old son, who hates chicken on the bone. He really liked this recipe and declared he would eat it again if i made it for him! That's a 5 in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My husband and 5 yr old son LOVE this barbeque sauce! It is the first bbq sauce I have made or bought they would eat. It is sweet, but that is alright by us. I did reduce the amount of brown sugar by 1/2 cup (but only because I ran out) and used all natural unsweetened applesauce because that is all I buy. After making it, I put it in the frig overnight then added to shredded pork in the crock pot. The smell was wonderful, great smooth texture, and family pleasing taste. Add easy to prepare and this is a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I followed the suggestions by other reviewers and halved the brown sugar and I also used cinnamon apple sauce so i didn't add the other cinnamon and the result was absolutely wonderful. This sauce is sweet and not for those who like hot and spicy. For my friends and myself we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
The meat was nice and moist with great flavor. A little different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Our whole family loves it. Even my dad he does ever like any kind of barbeque sauce. He makes my mom fix it now. We even fix enough to put aside to freeze later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States