Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was great! We like a little bit more kick so we added Cayenne Pepper. The apple sauce was a very nice base for the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Great recipe - with some changes. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar due to all the reviews that said it was too sweet (but I think it could handle more - but no more than 1 cup), plain unsweetened applesauce, left out the cinnamon and added about 1/4 tsp dried onion flakes. Really good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I happen to have a sweet tooth and I think that this is a great bbq sauce especially on a warm sunny afternoon, with a nice cold beer, some close friends, and of course, some football!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Great Recipe,my friends were all surprise that it was home made and not from a bottle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I loved this sauce, but of course changed it a little. I added more garlic powder, threw in some crushed red pepper, and some dry mustard. Had a nice sweet taste up front with some heat in the back. Put this on some ribs I smoked. I think Pork and Apples are a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe as written, very easy to make. I used it with chicken and it was good. You can definitely taste the applesauce. I plan on making it again but using it in the crockpot with boneless porkchops and sliced apples, I think it will be even better with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
A little on the sweet side for me. I added more tomato paste and ketchup to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This sauce was too sweet for my taste. It tasted more like a duck/sweet & sour sauce. The texture of the sauce was a bit too "granular or gritty". This was due to the texture of the applesauce used in it. Changing to a smoother applesauce would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I also halved the sugar and still it was just too sweet for us. I even put a little bit of liquid smoke in it and just couldn't get it to taste the way we wanted. Probably just not the recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
We really liked this sauce. It is sweet, and if you like sweet barbeque sauces chances are this one will be a hit. The only change I made was to decrease the sugar by half. Since I used a sweetened applesauce this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States