Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great Recipe! I made it to go w/some leftover pork roast. I did not have any ketchup on hand and used 4oz of tomato sauce and a few tablespoons of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this Sunday to go on ribs. It was very tasty and the whole family loved it!! The ONLY thing is that it IS too sweet but next time I make this I'll cut back on the sugar. I also added some hot sauce to give it a little bite. I had leftovers for lunch today and am going to be canning some jars of this...excellent sauce! I cant wait to try it on chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I had no paprika so I used chili powder but only 1/4 tsp instead of 1/2. Also wanted it quicker than the stove would have called for so I used the microwave in 2 minute bouts until blended to the consistency I wanted. Very interesting flavor! Will be cooking Tilapia with it in the crockpot on low for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evansrabbitranch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this was a good base but I added 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne, doubled the salt and used unsweetened organic applesauce. this made for a tangy, sweet, and spicy bbq sauce. I love how quick and easy this is. I threw the mixture in the crockpot with a bottle of boylan's rootbeer and 4lbs of pork butt for pulled pork. I can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Half the sugar is plenty. This recipe tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
While I'm generally in the camp of "You can't have too much sugar!", reviewing the recipe purely on what is written, it was so sweet I thought I would enter a sugar coma and never return. So, next time around, I halved the sugar and used unsweetened applesauce- still had complaints that it was too sugary, but *I* enjoyed it. The applesauce adds a nice element to an otherwise standard sauce recipe...I add a little Hot Sauce and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaFrolics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good. Like other users, I only used 1 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Next time I will use only 1 cup. I also found it was runnier than I would have liked (even after putting it in the fridge). But very easy and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My family loved this sauce. I did cut the brown sugar in half and it was very sweet. Thanks for the tip and great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Loved it! Great flavor.... yes sweet, but what do expect with 2 cups brown sugar. I had to read carefully it said UN-PACKED brown sugar. 2nd was a little less sweet & Delious! Will be making time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Great! I made my own unsweetened applesauce for this sauce. It was a big treat and met with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States