Applesauce Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
We have created a feeding frenzy with this recipe on ribs. It is the best rib bbq sauce there is. We baste our ribs after we slow cook our baby back ribs for 4 hrs on low heat (250) with a cookie sheet full of water underneath the ribs - put ribs directly on oven rack. The key to take away the sweetness is to make sure you use a good, spicy rub - rub ribs before you place them in the oven or rub them the night before. The spicier the better for the rub as the sweetness of the BBQ sauce totally compliments it. Also - make sure the BBQ sauce has cooled before using it - it goes on thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle Sauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
We put this on chicken and it was very tasty. The whole family enjoyed the sweet taste that the applesauce added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
We love this sauce! We won't be buying any sauce--just making this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This is a good sauce if you like sweet barbeque sauce. I recommend only using 1 1/2 cups brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This is so delicious. I substituted bottled barbeque sauce for the ketchup. Also, I replaced the garlic powder with one clove of fresh garlic. Here's another suggestion: try this in the recipe on this site for "Brown Sugar Meatloaf" submitted by Starbuck. What a sweet delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This was pretty good. We used it on both pork and chicken and liked it on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
PRETTY AVERAGE AS FAR AS BBQ GOES, BUT MY HUBBY IS THE BBQ CONISSIUER AND HE REALLY LIKED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Absolutely delicious! I have made this for pork tenderloin and drizzled it on top as well as a topping for meatloaf. Both of my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
My family loved this one! I didn't change the recipe at all. Making it for ribs tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I used this recipe for a Pig Roast. It was very easy to prepare. I used only 1 cup of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States