Applesauce Baked Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I had some applesauce lying around ever since I got my wisdom teeth out in December, so I thought I'd try some baking with it.. What a yummy snack and it's so easy to make! I added some cinnamon because you can't have apple without cinnamon. I found that this recipe fits well into an 8x8 pan and I cut it into 9 servings instead of 6. Really handy for a quick snack when you're studying or writing essays! My one complaint is that even with the added cinnamon they are slightly bland. Easy to fix, just add a drop of honey on top when you serve it for some additional sweetness. These are so comforting and soft to eat, I will definitely be making again (maybe adding some frozen berries or honey to the batter to add some flavour?) because these will be good to have on hand as a quick pick-me-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I used brown sugar instead of white and added dried cherries apricot and blueberries. I also used left over homemade applesauce made from Macintosh apples. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Baked this in an 8 x 8 pan, which is correct size for this quantity. Used 1/2C unsweetened applesauce & 2T butter instead of the 4T butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Easy and healthy! I have made it about 4 times now and completely eliminate the butter. I double the recipe and make it in a 9x13 pan and then again double the applesauce to eliminate butter - so I add 1 cup of applesauce. Then I add lots of cinnamon and use vanilla soy or almond milk and about 1/4 cup of chia seeds. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
SUPER easy, incredibly adaptable, and DELICOUS!! I made it 50-50 white and brown sugar (will prob. go all brown next time), added raisins and cinnamon, and, as suggested, baked it in a 8 x 8 square Pyrex pan. Topped it w/more applesauce. Next time might add yogurt!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Thank you for a great base recipe.Recipe is very good with no alterations to the ingredients or you can personalize with nuts, fruits, spices etc... I agree with other reviewers comments on size of baking dish. 9 x 13 is too big. We used a smaller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I was a bit disappointed that the applesauce didn't add more flavor but this recipe is definitely worth tweaking. I will be trying bananas next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
If you follow the recipes with no portion adjustments it's too little for a 9x13 pan. The first time I made it I doubled the recipe the next time I placed it in a smaller pan. Both times we loved it. I think this has become our new standard baked oatmeal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Curtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This made my whole house smell so good! I added a 1/2 tsp of cinammon and a few handfuls of chopped pecans for some protein. I also baked it in a 9x9 square pan instead of a 9x13...it seemed much too thin to spread evenly in the larger pan, and I like my baked oatmeal to be a little heartier and thicker. This recipe was great, as I felt like it was healthier than others I've seen that call for 3 times the sugar and butter. It didn't lack in taste though - was delicious with a cold glass of milk (and didn't taste like I was eating dessert for breakfast). Hubby and I will eat on this for the rest of the week - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterfly nessa
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I added some cinnamon to it... super yummy!!! Ive never baked oatmeal before and this turned out so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States