Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good recipe. Here's a way to make it even easier. Don't bother peeling or coring apples. Just cut them into quarters or eights. After the apples finish cooking, put them through a food mill. It will separate out the peels and seeds. Plus, it leaves the applesauce with a pretty pink tone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I added extra cinnamon. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This should be a 10. It is so simple and so natural. I ate it hot and I loved it. Only thing I did different was a squeeze of lemon juice, a pinch of salt and cooked it in the crockpot for 4hours on high. This recipe will be one of my classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a great base recipe to work off of. I doubled the cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg. I used a mix of 4 different apples (can't remember what kind but 2 were red varieties & 2 were green varieties) and took the advice of waiting until the end of simmering to add the sugar. I wound up using a little LESS than 1/8 cup, significantly reducing the sugar! I found it sweet enough. I've made this twice. The first time I left it as is and enjoyed it's glorious chunkiness. The second time I was canning and planning to give it away to people who didn't care for chunky applesauce. At the end of the simmer I dumped 2/3 of it into a blender and blended until smooth. Then I added the remaining 1/3 so there was just a slight chunk reminding folks that what they were eating was handmade ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really like this as a starting point. I added a shot or so of brandy with a little less water. I added a little more cinnamon because we LOVE cinnamon and then I reduced the sugar by about half because I was using a fairly sweet apple. I'd suggest adding half of the sugar and taste and then add more until you're happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Wonderful taste, easy recipe to follow. My contribution is to put everything in the slow cooker and cook it on low for 6 hours. Smells great when you come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Rarely I say this, perfect! Easy to read and follow recipe. I added a pinch of allspice as well. My only note: if you can crush your own clove/allspice. The ground ones loose the rich oils released when you crush them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Makes a very nice applesauce.....used up a lot of apples that my kids picked at the orchard this weekend......time consuming to peel and make - if I didn't have extra apples about to go bad, I would totally just buy Motts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was so good! I made it without sugar and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States