Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yummy! Used Gala apples so decreased sugar to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good recipe. Here's a way to make it even easier. Don't bother peeling or coring apples. Just cut them into quarters or eights. After the apples finish cooking, put them through a food mill. It will separate out the peels and seeds. Plus, it leaves the applesauce with a pretty pink tone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I added extra cinnamon. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This should be a 10. It is so simple and so natural. I ate it hot and I loved it. Only thing I did different was a squeeze of lemon juice, a pinch of salt and cooked it in the crockpot for 4hours on high. This recipe will be one of my classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a great base recipe to work off of. I doubled the cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg. I used a mix of 4 different apples (can't remember what kind but 2 were red varieties & 2 were green varieties) and took the advice of waiting until the end of simmering to add the sugar. I wound up using a little LESS than 1/8 cup, significantly reducing the sugar! I found it sweet enough. I've made this twice. The first time I left it as is and enjoyed it's glorious chunkiness. The second time I was canning and planning to give it away to people who didn't care for chunky applesauce. At the end of the simmer I dumped 2/3 of it into a blender and blended until smooth. Then I added the remaining 1/3 so there was just a slight chunk reminding folks that what they were eating was handmade ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really like this as a starting point. I added a shot or so of brandy with a little less water. I added a little more cinnamon because we LOVE cinnamon and then I reduced the sugar by about half because I was using a fairly sweet apple. I'd suggest adding half of the sugar and taste and then add more until you're happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Wonderful taste, easy recipe to follow. My contribution is to put everything in the slow cooker and cook it on low for 6 hours. Smells great when you come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Rarely I say this, perfect! Easy to read and follow recipe. I added a pinch of allspice as well. My only note: if you can crush your own clove/allspice. The ground ones loose the rich oils released when you crush them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Makes a very nice applesauce.....used up a lot of apples that my kids picked at the orchard this weekend......time consuming to peel and make - if I didn't have extra apples about to go bad, I would totally just buy Motts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States