Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was a great applesauce recipe. I love chunky applesauce, and this one fit the bill. I used the recipe to just eat by itself and to mix with a cake. When you use it to mix with the cake you need to add some moisture since it is a chunky recipe. The spicing in it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHNWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Been making applesauce this way for years. Never have bought applesauce. I like the addition of nutmeg also. I make it both with the addition of some sugar and with no sugar. Like it both ways! Most of the time I double or triple the recipe as I freeze alot of applesauce but it can also be canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is almost identical to the recipe I use for applesauce...I use apple cider instead of water, adding just enough so the apples don't burn or stick. Also, taste the applesauce before adding the sugar as some apples are sweeter than others. I cook slowly over low-med. heat, I find it gives a more intense apple flavor the longer it cooks. When done I mash with a potato masher to the consistency I want. Hope you find these tips helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
When I make big batches to can, I mash the apples with a potato masher. When I open a jar for a meal and I want it smoother, I use a stick blender. Does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used only about 1/3 c water, and mashed with a potato masher when cooked, for a chunky texture which we pefer. I've always used Splenda, and added a little nutmeg, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yummy! Used Gala apples so decreased sugar to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good recipe. Here's a way to make it even easier. Don't bother peeling or coring apples. Just cut them into quarters or eights. After the apples finish cooking, put them through a food mill. It will separate out the peels and seeds. Plus, it leaves the applesauce with a pretty pink tone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I added extra cinnamon. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This should be a 10. It is so simple and so natural. I ate it hot and I loved it. Only thing I did different was a squeeze of lemon juice, a pinch of salt and cooked it in the crockpot for 4hours on high. This recipe will be one of my classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a great base recipe to work off of. I doubled the cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg. I used a mix of 4 different apples (can't remember what kind but 2 were red varieties & 2 were green varieties) and took the advice of waiting until the end of simmering to add the sugar. I wound up using a little LESS than 1/8 cup, significantly reducing the sugar! I found it sweet enough. I've made this twice. The first time I left it as is and enjoyed it's glorious chunkiness. The second time I was canning and planning to give it away to people who didn't care for chunky applesauce. At the end of the simmer I dumped 2/3 of it into a blender and blended until smooth. Then I added the remaining 1/3 so there was just a slight chunk reminding folks that what they were eating was handmade ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States