Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I just made this a little while ago, and it is definitely a keeper! My husband and I both tried it, and it was all we could do to wait until it cooled down. This is so easy to prepare, and also so adaptable to any change one might want to make. We will be using this one again and again. I'll bet it would work just great with pears. Also you could use a little brown sugar instead of white, or mix the two, as well as experimenting with other spices. Anyway, thank you Jackswife for this wonderful and simple recipe. I cannot believe I reached the ripe old age of 67 and never tried to make homemade applesauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So easy and delicious. I used my blender to process it for just a few pulses. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, because we don't like our applesauce too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveler1157

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Simple to make. I did not use any sugar. The combination of Braeburn apples and Honey Crisp apples were more than sweet enough. Also, I did not have any cloves on hand but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I think the amounts are a little off. Needs a little less sugar. Also it needs to cook longer. I kept having to add more water to get the right consistence without burning it.. I think it's a fine base recipe but it really depends on what type of apples you use and their size etc. personally I like to do applesauce in the crockpot ... It ends out coming out so much smoother. When I cook it in the crockpot I use 5-6 lbs apples (or about 12 cups chopped), 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 cup water, 1 tbsp lemon juice. I cook it on high for three hours then I mash it with a potato masher. It comes out yummy and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly and took my time to mash all the way down. I prefer my applesauce this way and had many compliments at the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Wonderfully yummy & easy! The only things I changed were; halved the sugar(didn't miss it),and blended it in a mini food processor to make it smoothe. PERFECT!! A definite KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Absolutely the best applesauce. I too was concerned about a clove taste, but it does add just that right touch. I used my boat motor (imersion blender) right in the pot to get the chunks out. I've made this twice now and as others have said, the apple size,type and sweet/tartness can make a difference . . . but this is a receipe that is very adjustable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I follow this basic recipe except I add a little bit of ginger and some pumpkin pie spice instead of the clove. I also use brown sugar instead of white as I prefer the deeper caramel flavor that goes so well with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Willows, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Yum, yum, yum (but I made changes). I used a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and just a pinch of cloves. I also let the apples simmer for 25 minutes after they boiled and then used a potato masher to get them smooshier. I only added about a tablespoon of stevia for sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States