Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I wasn't too pleased with this recipe... although it made the whole kitchen smell lovely while it was cooking! My husband likes his applesauce less chunky, so I made sure to chop/food process the apples very small. It would be good fresh and warm, but didn't seem that appetizing when cold or as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used brown sugar instead of white. My tip is to begin by cooking just the apples and a small amount of the water. You can then add water as needed as the apples begin to break down--you will then have the perfect consistency. Once the apples have cooked down taste them to determine the correct amount of sugar and spice needed because all apples have a different level of sweetness. I also used my immersion blender because we prefer a smooth sauce. My kids and husband proclaim that this is the best apple sauce they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
For my medium sized ~3" Dia Cameo apples this recipe took 4 apples. and I used crushed clove heads so the clove taste immediately after cooking was irregularily distributed. I'm looking forward to tasting it after freezing. Really yummy comfort food. Might make a great base for a chutney or fruit soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I am not a cloves fan but I followed this recipe exactly as it reads and it tastes absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
love it. recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent and easy recipe. I used Empire apples, about 8 cups, 1 cup of apple cider, 4 cinnamon sticks and 1/4 tsp ground clove. No sugar was needed, but I like it a little tart. I would use turbinado or light raw sugar if it needed sweetening. It adds more flavor than white sugar. It made 2 pints, after some judicious sampling, one to freeze, and one for the fridge. I look forward to playing around with different apple varieties and maybe some ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Super simeple and easy recipe. Loved the simple ingredients of this recipe which I had on hand. I put this through a food mill and the texture was great. It had a little more juice leftover after cooking but I gradually added it back in after the sauce was cooked. Would definitely recommend this applesauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Perfect and easy! the whole house smelled wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Made this tonight and my family LOVED it. I added half the water. I also added 1/4 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My 4 year old and I made a 1/2 batch of this and served it hot in coffee cups with a dollop of cool whip! Yummy! I intended to use apple pie spice instead of cloves....but was out so I made it with only cinnamon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainalea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States