Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used brown sugar instead of white. My tip is to begin by cooking just the apples and a small amount of the water. You can then add water as needed as the apples begin to break down--you will then have the perfect consistency. Once the apples have cooked down taste them to determine the correct amount of sugar and spice needed because all apples have a different level of sweetness. I also used my immersion blender because we prefer a smooth sauce. My kids and husband proclaim that this is the best apple sauce they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
For my medium sized ~3" Dia Cameo apples this recipe took 4 apples. and I used crushed clove heads so the clove taste immediately after cooking was irregularily distributed. I'm looking forward to tasting it after freezing. Really yummy comfort food. Might make a great base for a chutney or fruit soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I am not a cloves fan but I followed this recipe exactly as it reads and it tastes absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
love it. recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent and easy recipe. I used Empire apples, about 8 cups, 1 cup of apple cider, 4 cinnamon sticks and 1/4 tsp ground clove. No sugar was needed, but I like it a little tart. I would use turbinado or light raw sugar if it needed sweetening. It adds more flavor than white sugar. It made 2 pints, after some judicious sampling, one to freeze, and one for the fridge. I look forward to playing around with different apple varieties and maybe some ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Super simeple and easy recipe. Loved the simple ingredients of this recipe which I had on hand. I put this through a food mill and the texture was great. It had a little more juice leftover after cooking but I gradually added it back in after the sauce was cooked. Would definitely recommend this applesauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Perfect and easy! the whole house smelled wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Made this tonight and my family LOVED it. I added half the water. I also added 1/4 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My 4 year old and I made a 1/2 batch of this and served it hot in coffee cups with a dollop of cool whip! Yummy! I intended to use apple pie spice instead of cloves....but was out so I made it with only cinnamon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainalea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is soooo good! I double the cinnamon and don't add any sugar. My 9 month old gobbles it up! I also canned it. Hot applesauce, hot canning jar, filled up, twisted lid on, flipped upside down till cool. Super easy! This is my go to applesauce recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States