Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Yes, this was very easy. I used a teaspoon of homemade apple pie spice instead of the individual spices asked for in this recipe. I also used organic apples. After the apples simmered, I used my potato masher to do a quick mash on the apples, leaving some chunks for a more textured applesauce. This was a lifesaver for someone who cooks quite a bit with applesauce and found herself out of applesauce and low on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is recipe is super-easy and tastes great. My kids both liked it. We used some of it to make Lucy's Applesauce Pie (Peanuts cookbook) and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My dad is the applesauce maker in our family, and his recipe is much the same. The differences: less sugar (depending on the apple), no cloves, and he leaves the skin on (it strains out in the final steps and gives the applesauce a pretty pink colour!) Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good, basic applesauce! I agree with other comments about sugar being unnecessary depending on the apple you use. Such a nutritious treat to serve my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good. I never bother peeling apples when making applesauce! Added only ½ cup water and simmered covered very low heat for 1 hour 15 minutes. The kitchen smells so good! Added ¼ cup sugar and 2 tablespoons honey the last 15 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I added only 1/3 cup sugar and it was great. I would definitely make it again! :D So much better than Mott's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Way good! I also added a little bit of nutmeg. Needs to be mashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent basic recipe I did modify a bit. Used allspice instead and also my apples were plenty sweet enough and the sugar was completely unnecessary I would definitely taste them before you add the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I wasn't too pleased with this recipe... although it made the whole kitchen smell lovely while it was cooking! My husband likes his applesauce less chunky, so I made sure to chop/food process the apples very small. It would be good fresh and warm, but didn't seem that appetizing when cold or as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used brown sugar instead of white. My tip is to begin by cooking just the apples and a small amount of the water. You can then add water as needed as the apples begin to break down--you will then have the perfect consistency. Once the apples have cooked down taste them to determine the correct amount of sugar and spice needed because all apples have a different level of sweetness. I also used my immersion blender because we prefer a smooth sauce. My kids and husband proclaim that this is the best apple sauce they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States