Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This should be a 10. It is so simple and so natural. I ate it hot and I loved it. Only thing I did different was a squeeze of lemon juice, a pinch of salt and cooked it in the crockpot for 4hours on high. This recipe will be one of my classics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a great base recipe to work off of. I doubled the cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg. I used a mix of 4 different apples (can't remember what kind but 2 were red varieties & 2 were green varieties) and took the advice of waiting until the end of simmering to add the sugar. I wound up using a little LESS than 1/8 cup, significantly reducing the sugar! I found it sweet enough. I've made this twice. The first time I left it as is and enjoyed it's glorious chunkiness. The second time I was canning and planning to give it away to people who didn't care for chunky applesauce. At the end of the simmer I dumped 2/3 of it into a blender and blended until smooth. Then I added the remaining 1/3 so there was just a slight chunk reminding folks that what they were eating was handmade ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really like this as a starting point. I added a shot or so of brandy with a little less water. I added a little more cinnamon because we LOVE cinnamon and then I reduced the sugar by about half because I was using a fairly sweet apple. I'd suggest adding half of the sugar and taste and then add more until you're happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Wonderful taste, easy recipe to follow. My contribution is to put everything in the slow cooker and cook it on low for 6 hours. Smells great when you come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Rarely I say this, perfect! Easy to read and follow recipe. I added a pinch of allspice as well. My only note: if you can crush your own clove/allspice. The ground ones loose the rich oils released when you crush them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Makes a very nice applesauce.....used up a lot of apples that my kids picked at the orchard this weekend......time consuming to peel and make - if I didn't have extra apples about to go bad, I would totally just buy Motts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was so good! I made it without sugar and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe filled our house with the scent of fall - apples and spice. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was perfect. Simply delicious and impossible to mess up - my kind of recipe! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Best applesauce I have ever had. Made exactly as recipe says. Not a fan of cloves, but I am so glad I added it anyways. Delicious. This is my third year now canning this recipe for use the rest of the year. I will never buy store bought applesauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States