Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe filled our house with the scent of fall - apples and spice. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was perfect. Simply delicious and impossible to mess up - my kind of recipe! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Best applesauce I have ever had. Made exactly as recipe says. Not a fan of cloves, but I am so glad I added it anyways. Delicious. This is my third year now canning this recipe for use the rest of the year. I will never buy store bought applesauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is an great tasting easy applesauce recipe! I used fresh golden delicious apples from the orchard, halved the amount of sugar and used a little less water than what was called for and it turned out perfect. Cooked it for 3-4 hours in the crockpot on high heat and mashed most of it with a potato masher which left some chunks in it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This applesauce was wonderful. I added some nutmeg and some powdered vanilla to it to jazz it up a little more. I also didn't love the chunky consistency so I threw mine in the blender and pulsed it a few times. I will for sure make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dedeyez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Did this in the crockpot with macs and a granny smith.....also decreased the water to 1/2c. and decreased the sugar to 1/4c. I did not use regular sugar....used sugar substitiute such as Ideal brand. Added about 2 tspns of cinnamon and I ground my own cloves. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a perfect applesauce! I made it in the crockpot and it could not have been easier. My apples were pretty sweet so I halved the sugar and it was just right. Thanks Jackswife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This recipe is so easy and very good. I did make a few changes by cutting down on the sugar and added vanilla. I didn't have any cloves, but will use it next time. I put it in my crock pot for 4 hours on high. Thank You for sharing all the reviews and for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
INCREDIBLE! I put the ingredients into the crockpot as I left for work and it smelled like fall when I walked in! I used 1/2 the sugar, as I knew my apples were already sweet enough. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
omitted the c loves and incorporated my slow cooker. I cooked on low for 4 hours and didn't need to mash them... So good!! Kids are wanting more!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Once you try this recipe you will never buy jarred applesauce again! I've been making it for years (without sugar). You can make it even easier by not peeling the apples and just throwing the whole mess into a food mill. This will give it a nice, smooth texture and remove the skin. If you have leftovers it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States