Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Really like this as a starting point. I added a shot or so of brandy with a little less water. I added a little more cinnamon because we LOVE cinnamon and then I reduced the sugar by about half because I was using a fairly sweet apple. I'd suggest adding half of the sugar and taste and then add more until you're happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Wonderful taste, easy recipe to follow. My contribution is to put everything in the slow cooker and cook it on low for 6 hours. Smells great when you come home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Rarely I say this, perfect! Easy to read and follow recipe. I added a pinch of allspice as well. My only note: if you can crush your own clove/allspice. The ground ones loose the rich oils released when you crush them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Makes a very nice applesauce.....used up a lot of apples that my kids picked at the orchard this weekend......time consuming to peel and make - if I didn't have extra apples about to go bad, I would totally just buy Motts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was so good! I made it without sugar and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe filled our house with the scent of fall - apples and spice. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and it was perfect. Simply delicious and impossible to mess up - my kind of recipe! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Best applesauce I have ever had. Made exactly as recipe says. Not a fan of cloves, but I am so glad I added it anyways. Delicious. This is my third year now canning this recipe for use the rest of the year. I will never buy store bought applesauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is an great tasting easy applesauce recipe! I used fresh golden delicious apples from the orchard, halved the amount of sugar and used a little less water than what was called for and it turned out perfect. Cooked it for 3-4 hours in the crockpot on high heat and mashed most of it with a potato masher which left some chunks in it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This applesauce was wonderful. I added some nutmeg and some powdered vanilla to it to jazz it up a little more. I also didn't love the chunky consistency so I threw mine in the blender and pulsed it a few times. I will for sure make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dedeyez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States