Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
So very good. I made this today to go with a ham dinner. Felt like it could have used a little more water and I actually ended up putting it in the crock pot and cooking longer. By the evening, it was perfect. I think next time I'll just start in the crock pot. Husband loved it; said it tasted like the inside of an apple pie. I only added a teaspoon of sugar to get the water to be more like syrup (it ended up getting all absorbed) because I used fuji apples. I'll make it again most definitely just for the yum factor and ease of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Original recipe called for too much water, in my opinion. I like my applesauce chunkier, not soupier. Added more cinnamon, used nutmeg (didn't have cloves), a pinch of kosher salt and brown sugar/white sugar mix. This was my first adventure in making my own applesauce and I was greatly rewarded! Thanks for posting it and thanks to those who shared their revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMG! This was the very BEST part of the meal. And everyone (picky ones included) Loved it. Definate keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was a nice and easy recipe. I used 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon instead of the 1/8 tsp. as suggested, because my son is a big fan of cinnamon. My mom is a tough critic and she really enjoyed the applesauce, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My family loves this version. Sometimes I don't peel the apples if I am short on time and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe was excellent and so very yummy! I used 6 fuji apples, 1/8 teaspoon each of cinnamon and cloves, 3/4 cup water. I let that that simmer for about 15 minutes before putting just 2 spoonfuls of sugar in and let it simmer for 10 more minutes. Then I transferred it to my food processer and pulsed it a dozen times or so. It was fantastic warm. I will try it tomorrow cold. I can't wait! Thank you for the excellent recipe. I will never buy applesauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was a great applesauce recipe. I love chunky applesauce, and this one fit the bill. I used the recipe to just eat by itself and to mix with a cake. When you use it to mix with the cake you need to add some moisture since it is a chunky recipe. The spicing in it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHNWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Been making applesauce this way for years. Never have bought applesauce. I like the addition of nutmeg also. I make it both with the addition of some sugar and with no sugar. Like it both ways! Most of the time I double or triple the recipe as I freeze alot of applesauce but it can also be canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is almost identical to the recipe I use for applesauce...I use apple cider instead of water, adding just enough so the apples don't burn or stick. Also, taste the applesauce before adding the sugar as some apples are sweeter than others. I cook slowly over low-med. heat, I find it gives a more intense apple flavor the longer it cooks. When done I mash with a potato masher to the consistency I want. Hope you find these tips helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
When I make big batches to can, I mash the apples with a potato masher. When I open a jar for a meal and I want it smoother, I use a stick blender. Does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States