Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wow". Just made this and absolutely love it! Fast and easy! I did add more cinnamon since I like it. About 1teaspoon. I forgot to turn it down to simmer once it started boiling and kept it on medium. Done quickly but not overlooked.. Be sure to thinly slice the apples so they will cook quickly. Can't wait to share with my family today when they come over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Made this a few weeks ago, and am presently making more. My 13-yr-old, who is liking her cooking more than mine, was quite impressed that I made this yummy apple sauce and, just yesterday, requested me to make some more. My graduating high school daughter, 17, went to an apple orchard on a field trip yesterday and brought 5 pounds of apples home with her - I used those, oopsies! Hopefully she approves...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this tonight with some changes and it was wonderful. I had to cook it a lot longer (and I do mean a lot), but I am high altitude. I read the other reviews and left out the sugar, it did not need it! After filling my home with the smell of apples, cinnamon and cloves. I am eating warm and tasty applesauce as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I love chunky applesauce and this was delishious. I'm making extra to can. I left out the cloves and it was still Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brownfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I substituted the water for white wine, or Guava Nectar(available at the Dollar store) Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Definitely, 1/2 cup water, not 3/4, make that a scant 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This applesauce is the best I've ever eaten. No more store-bought applesauce for my family. I like that I can choose my own organic apples and the other organic ingredients. It could definitely be slightly less sweet. Next time, I will put less sugar in the sauce. Also, because my family balked at the idea of chunky sauce, I put the sauce in a food processor to get the typical creamy consistency that they are used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I rated this recipe a 3 as is, because I think it's too sweet. Applesauce doesn't need sugar because apples are already sweet. So I made it with no sugar, and used nutmeg instead of cloves. We all loved it with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Much better tham the apple sauce I tried to make last weekend. This has the perfect flavor, not to strong on the cinnamon and cloves. Thanks Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
So very good. I made this today to go with a ham dinner. Felt like it could have used a little more water and I actually ended up putting it in the crock pot and cooking longer. By the evening, it was perfect. I think next time I'll just start in the crock pot. Husband loved it; said it tasted like the inside of an apple pie. I only added a teaspoon of sugar to get the water to be more like syrup (it ended up getting all absorbed) because I used fuji apples. I'll make it again most definitely just for the yum factor and ease of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States