Apples in Pajamas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very good but the batter is a little bland even with the cinnamon and vanilla added. So we mixed up a powdered sugar glaze to drizzle over them after frying and sprinkled with the cinnamon & sugar and it made them wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I'm glad I scaled this recipe back when I tried it, because my son and I really didn't enjoy these. Even with a little vanilla in the batter and served with cinnamon these were pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very delcious! My younger brothers loved it, and they normally don't eat things like this. I did have to add a little more flour, and i cooked them in butter, not oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is so yummy!!! Tastes like 'tiger ears' with apples in the middle of them! We have the tiger ears at the state fair every year...but only once a year! So, it's exciting to have this recipe avaliable to make whenever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were good. I did add vanilla and apple pie spice to the batter. Eat right away, not as good after they cool. My 3 yr old liked them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
it was ok. i added the cinnamon and vanilla to the batter like other reviewers said, and the batter was still alittle bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walden, New York, USA
Living In: Crane, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This was pretty good. I followed some of the other reviewers tips and added a little vanilla and a little cinnamon to the batter before frying the apples. My husband really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was pretty yummy. It wasn't crunchy like I expected but maybe I needed to fry it longer. We only used have the apples before we ran out of batter. That could have been from putting too much on each or having too many slices. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Everyone at my house loves this recipe, especially the children and all of their friends. I did change the batter recipe a bit though, I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Be sure to dust both sides of the apple with the cinnamon and sugar immediately after removing from oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicademusx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States