Apples by the Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
So good! Add some butter to them before wrapping and it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Pretty good; a less healthy but more yummy way of eating apples. :) Very quick and easy. thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was great. Even my picky 4 yr old enjoyed these apples. I left it in longer, about 1 hr. It still came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My first time making apple pie and I could not believe how good it turned out!! I followed it step by step and it was the best apple pie ever! Great Thanksgiving pie, my dad even had for breakfast!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Just okay . . . wouldn't do it again, but will look for a more interesting version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Didn't work out so well despite a hot fire and all the fixings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
It was a great treat by the fire. I felt that the apple needed to cook just a little longer, about 20 minutes or so. But it is personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I doubled this recipe and I used homemade apple pie spice instead of cinnamon. I didn't make mine in the "fire", I wrapped my apples in foil and stuck them in the cast iron skillet and baked it at 350 for ten minutes. The kids thought this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Made according to directions. Apples turned to mush! Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Fabulous dessert that's simple and delicious! If you like baked apples in the oven then you'll love 'em over the fire. Not only because of the ease of prep (you can basically eyeball vs. measure), but because of the ease of clean up - there is none! I sprayed the foil with a bit of Pam so nothing would stick and added a pat of Land O Lakes light butter over top along with a splash of vanilla. This was great with vanilla ice cream. Next time I might add some raisins or a splash of rum vs. vanilla for a little different flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

How to Make a Fire Engine Cake

See how easy it is to make a fun, fire-engine birthday cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States