Apple Yogurt Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I couldn't find my muffin pan (recently moved) so I used a 9 inch cake pan and made one gigantic muffin! It looks gorgeous with a huge rounded top. I did make a few modifications based on other reviewers. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half white whole wheat. Also, 1 teaspoon each baking soda and baking powder instead of 3 teaspoons of the powder alone. It rose sky high. I only had plain yogurt, so I added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Instead of vegetable oil, I used 1 Tablespoon olive oil and 1/4 cup apple sauce. I tried using only apple sauce to replace the oil completely, but the batter was too dry that way. Therefore, 1 Tablespoon of olive oil was just right in my particular situation. Also, the apple sauce was a nice compliment to the rest of the recipe since it adds more apple flavor. My apple was a bit small, so I added both 1/3 cup golden raisins and 1/3 cup walnuts. For the topping, I added 2 Tablespoons of oats and only 1 Tablespoon of flour. I would have used brown sugar if I had it, but the white worked just fine. I have yet to taste it because it's 2:30 AM and like a crazy person I decided to start baking because I couldn't sleep. The flavor of the batter was wonderful and the finished product looks great. If it's anything less than a 5 star rating, I will add to this review. However, I think it's going to be pretty amazing. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I just loved the taste of these muffins, although for some reason they just flopped in the oven. They stayed flat and spread over the pan rather than rise. I will try and bake these again, hopefully the next time they will rise correctly. I love the crisp topping and just the right about of apple. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used 1 t each baking powder and soda and cinnamon. An extra heap of yogurt and skipped the oil and milk. Crisco the pan, no muffin cups or it will stick. Topping: 2 T each flour, oats, sugar, dash cinnamon, 1 T butter. Muffins had a GREAT texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is fantastic! I used 2 apples because I started peeling and chopping before I double checked the recipe; added 2 tbs of brown sugar to the batter and 1/2 tsp of brown sugar to the topping. Perfect. Giving it 5 stars because I think it would be good as written also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Although I didn't have high expectations for these... the batter was extremely dry, so I added about a another 1/4 cup of milk, and only had raspberry yogurt in the fridge. They were FANTASTIC. Not at all dry or overly sweet! Love the fact that the recipe has much less vegetable oil than most muffin recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
They came out very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This recipe has 1/3 the sugar some recipes have, plus the additional nutritional benefits of yogurt and no saturated/trans fat, because it uses vegetable oil. I used brown sugar instead of white, a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, added about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, a medium (not small) size Granny Smith apple, and eliminated the raisins. This is a good basic recipe, and allows the flavor of the apple to predominate. Next time, I may add a couple of teaspoons of ground flax seeds too. Judi H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These muffins are delicious. I did not add extra sugar like some reviews suggested and do not think they needed it. They are a muffin not a desert! The only change I made was that I shreaded the apple instead of chopping it. I also skipped the topping as I was trying to keep it healthy. They came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Used butter-flavored Crisco cooking spray on the muffin pan instead of paper baking cup liners; let the muffins cool for 10 minutes in the pan; and they fell right out. Delicious and moist. Not too sweet or spicy. I will definitely make these again without changing a thing. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These muffins are super tasty! They are nice and moist and do not need more sugar. Just remember: never over mix muffins. Do no more than 26 stirs. I made a few changes to the original recipe: 1. I added a pinch more cinnamon 2. I substituted about a half a cup of blueberries for the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States