Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
DEFINITELY COOK THE SWEET POTATO **FIRST** BEFORE PLACING IT IN OVEN WITH APPLES. No matter how small you chop the potatoes, it ends up taking 3-4 times the amount of time specified without them being cooked beforehand. I also agree with a couple of reviewers who mentioned that the recipe for the sauce was too little. It may work well to make extra and add a little at a time. Otherwise, this tasted DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mar Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was delicious! I will incorporate this into my next Thanksgiving meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I made this twice recently, once for a friend that just had triplets and another for my family. My friend and her husband raved about it. My childen even seemed pleased which is not easy to do with a new vegetable dish. Thank you Genny for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is fabulous...my daughter and I ate it for days. Instead of simply putting in rasins...I put in Sunmaid's "Golden's and Cherries" sooooooo good. update 2008...7 years later, we're still lovin' it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Took quite a bit longer to bake than recipe indicated, but it's likely the yams I chose were larger than the recipe intended. For that same reason, I ended up increasing the brown sugar/water/butter mixture part way through baking because it just looked to dry. Regardless, it was very easy and got big raves at Christmas dinner. A nice, less sweet alternative to the traditional "sweet" sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I absolutley love this recipe, I had been looking for a good one for and this is it ! I made it for Christmas dinner and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
The best ever! This will become a tradition at our holiday meal from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feldster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
this was an ok recipie for people who don't like alot of sweetness. but i thought it was not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I made this recipie for Thanksgiving and it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
great ... had lots of compliments on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States