Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe was a total bomb at my Thanksgiving! It needs more of the sauce, otherwise it tastes like apples and potatoes in a pan. It sounds much better on paper. Very boring and uneventful when made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
One major flaw for this recipe is the cook time. I and two of my co-workers tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and were very displeased that it took THREE TIMES THE AMOUNT THAT IT SAYS! I stuck this dish in with my Turkey, and it didn't finish until the Turkey was done, almost 3 hours later. 3 Hours! Really! I'd suggest to anyone using this recipe to use a heck of a lot more butter for the moisture, and cook it covered for more like 1 1/2 hours at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Definately need to try boiling the sweet potatoes. I added a little extra sauce and raisins. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I am not all that fond of sweet potatoes, but this was really good. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Great recipe!!! It has been a hit with my entire family and I've been making every Thanksgiving and Easter now for about 2 years. Thanks Genny and AllRecipes.com. The only change I've made to the recipe is that I slightly boil the cubed yams in water with cinnamon sticks first then layer it with the apples because I found that the apples cook much faster than the yams if the yams are not pre-cooked. I also added slivered almonds on top...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very tasty side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
As an alternative to making candy yams for thanksgiving, I made this dish. It was delicious. I followed the advice of another reviewer and made a second batch of sauce. The next time that I make this dish, i will probably omit the raisins from the second batch. As i have just learned, that my family is not that crazy about raisins but i couldn't tell as they gobbled it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I tried this recipe for this year's Thanksgiving and got a big thumbs up from the whole family. Definitely a repeat performance dish. And... it's pretty! The prep time was vastly longer than the recipe indicates (and I even scheduled extra time since this was my first attempt), and next time I use this recipe, I am going to pre-cook the sweet potatoes before I peel and cube. It took a whole lot of time to bake -- the until tender part -- about an hour and 20 minutes! Additionally, depending on the size of the apple -- you may only need one apple for the casserole if the apple is large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Average...not bad...not so terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving when I got stuck making yams. The recipe was a hit!! I have never had yams but had to try it since I made it. Everyone including me loved them!! Adults and kids. I made it exactly as written with no problems. People even asked where I got the recipe. Very easy recipe and tasted delicious. I will definately be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States