Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Really good. You MUST cook the yams first, and it's a good idea to double the sauce. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this for the first time to take to a potluck of mostly strangers, and everyone really liked it- several requests for the recipe. I baked mine at 375 for the last 20 minutes, and then went 10 mmore minutes uncovered at the end. I also did 50/50 raisins and "craisins"-I don't know if this is a side or a dessert (warm with a scoop of ice cream??), but it is perfect for either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this last Thanksgiving and just had a call requesting it again this year! I found the sweet potatoes and apples I purchased were HUGE! - so I doubled the rest of the recipee and used 2 casserole dishes. Before placing in oven I microwaved each dish 5 minutes then repeated another 5 minutes(alternating dishes). This helped with the complaint I read a few reviewers had with the potatoes not cooking through - and I only needed to cook them in the oven for 20 minutes total after that. It was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made it exactly as indicated and the sweet potatoes did not cook all the way. If I had boiled them first, I think it would have turned out much better. The apples were good and the sauce was too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Ricketts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Everyone really enjoyed this on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Great alternative to the traditional yams and marshmallow recipe. I have a few suggestions though. First, take the other reviewers advice and boil the sweet potatoes first since the apples do finish much quicker. The sweet potatoes did take extra time to cook, longer than the stated time. Second, double up on the brown sugar and flour mixture. The casserole will be much sweeter and taste much better. Third, add more apples to the mixture. Otherwise, you hardly taste them. Furthermore, this is a great recipe and with the changes, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good as is, the only thing that I added was after this had finished cooking and was cooling down, I dotted butter over the top and added crushed pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving 2004 and it was a BIG hit!! My daughter really enjoyed this delightful dish and she is very hard to please at 3 yrs. old. Thank you for a great tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was very, very dry and uncooked. Ended up recooking it afterwards and adding some more traditional items to it such as marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
this was a new dish i cooked for thankgiving. it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States