Apple Walnut Stuffed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I made the following changes. I used two apples, and saute'd with the onion and celery, added spices and applesauce. I then poured this mixture over the breadcubes, in the crockpot. I added 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and cooked on high for 2 hours and then low for 2 hours. This was delicious! It was great for my family to have stuffing with Pork Roast, they LOVE stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Let me start by saying, the pork was very good, moist and tender and the stuffing inside was great. Some ideas to help yours turn out better would be, to turn the roast over half way through baking for more even cooking, and if you have left over stuffing you are best to add more liquid to it, put it in a separate pan, and cover it. Our extra stuffing was really dry, but the stuffing rolled inside was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Keep in mind that I am no chef! This receipe sounded great, the meat came out very good and tender, but the "stuffing" not so well. Not sure if the 5 Cups of bread crumbs was a typo or not but I could only get in 2 1/2 cups and it was very bland I think it would be better with a lot less bread crumbs like less than a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Use dry CUBED bread instead of bread crumbs for a proper stuffing mix - my error! I've since doubled the clove and cinnamon measurements for a sweeter mix. Thanks to all that have tried it and reviewed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was super simple and tasty! The pork was so moist - yum. I made some adjustments to the the stuffing: Increased applesauce to 2 cups Substituted chicken stock for water Added 5 pieces of bacon Next time I will add raisins as well. Also, it did not look very appetizing - I am going to try searing the roast first, perhaps with some brown sugar rubbed on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I used a pork sirloin and it was great. I love this recipe because it's very forgiving if you don't have exactly everything on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have used a very similar recipe for years. But added dried cherries and raisins - cut out celery and added a little extra butter. I usually make more stuffing and cook in separate pan - the reason for extra butter - otherwise is way too dry. But the raisins and cherries add extra sweetness. Can also place some cherries on top of the roast as it bakes. All in all a very good and easy recipe. My family loves it. I think one of the best things about cooking is that you can make small changes to recipes - just have fun and experiment - it it turns out bad - you dont do it again but sometimes - you make a wonderful discovery and everyone loves it. Then you have your "family" recipe. But this is well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I used most of the ingredients for this dish, eliminating the bread crumbs and applesauce. Used more diced apple and fresh ginger. Before stuffing the roast, I sprinkled the inside with cracked peppercorns, then stuffed and tied it. Prior to adding to the pan, I roasted seasoned potato and carrots for about 1/2 hour. Then added the roast and cooked for about 1 hour at 350 degrees. It turned out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigMike Lenahan
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I was not too impressed with this recipe. The liquid was soaked up long before I finished adding the 5 cups of breadcrumb. The bread diluted the flavor of the apples and spices so much that it was rather bland. If I make this again, I will experiment heavily - more flavorful fruits, less breadcrumb, and some complimentary spice rub on the roast, perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We loved the pork, but wouldn't eat the stuffing after the first night. My husband said it wasn't as sweet as he was hoping it would be and it really didn't have any flavor. I'm not sure if I'll try this again or not, if I do there will be changes made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States