Apple Walnut Stuffed Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My pork loin came out good. I had a hard time wrapping the loin as I used a large pork loin from costco, 8lbs. I would add more apple and walnuts, possibly raisins. As I doctored the recipe for a larger pork loin, cook time was longer. Also having a filet knife would be a big help. Also I would try and either flavor or decorate the roast with some type of garnish, as I used cooked this for Christmas eve dinner. I made roasted red potatoes, rools, and a salad. I might make a kight gravy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made this several times in the oven and over coals in the cast iron dutch oven while camping. I normally cut the bread crumbs by half to 2/3. I have also substituted crushed corn Chex for a gluten free stuffing.It turned out a bit crunchier that way. I have also used apple butter instead of applesauce for a sweeter taste. We like potatoes & carrots with the pork loin. If you are cooking this over coals in cast iron do not add the veggies with it in the same pot. It also helps to turn the roast at least once to cook evenly (this is hard to do if it is full of veggies too). The stuffing makes the meat very moist and adds flavor to the meat. Some like the stuffing and some don't. It is not for everyone but it is different. It goes very well with the cooked carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I didn't have the same wonderful experience as many have given. I followed the recipe to a T, with the exception of omitting onion (for dietary reasons). The stuffing was very wet and soggy. The finished product did not look appetizing. The taste was so-so. It didn't look or taste like something I would want to serve for a special occasion, let alone my family. I'm not sure what went wrong for me, but I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I am fairly sure that the originator of this recipe intended for it to use bread CUBES...NOT bread crumbs. Don't know for sure but it is the difference between stuffing and paste.Other than that, this is a pretty good, basic recipe. Very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this for Christmas dinner and it was pretty good. Of course, made a few changes after reading other reviews. Substituted water for Chicken Stock, think I'll use Vegetable Stock next time. Increased the applesauce from 1 cup to 1 1/2 cups (baked all stuffing in dish with meat and it was NOT dry). Seared outside of meat in a skillet with butter, salt and pepper before stuffing. Meat was flavorful and moist but not tender -- think next time I will try using the flat side of a meat mallet on it prior to cooking. Added dried cranberries to stuffing mixture. Next time will increase onion to 1 large onion and add black pepper. Used a meat thermometer and 145 degrees is perfect. Read in another pork loin recipe to cover the roast tightly with 2 layers of foil and let rest for at least 15 minutes prior to serving, so I did. Used the video on how to tie a roast and it worked out great. Overall it was a success and everyone had seconds and some had thirds. Will make it again with the above changes and post an update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but I found that the stuffing was overpowered by the spices. It was good to give the pork roast flavour but not to be eaten on it's on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
very good. I complimented the pork with some steamed basmati which included an apple/cinnamon tomato infusion. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was an excellent recipe I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANLIE0301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I stuffed with walnuts, apples, dried plums, applesauce and small amount of coconut flour...was good..didn't like original receipt it was mushy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We loved the pork, but wouldn't eat the stuffing after the first night. My husband said it wasn't as sweet as he was hoping it would be and it really didn't have any flavor. I'm not sure if I'll try this again or not, if I do there will be changes made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States