Apple Walnut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Presentation is a little lacking- truthfully the sauce looks slimy and brown, but the taste is great. Once I convinced my family to try it, they came back for seconds; said it tasted like unbaked apple pie. If I were to try again: less sauce, little more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I substituted Splenda Brown Sugar and non-fat yogurt. I made it for an office party and everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is SO good. I had two small bowls this morning with my pumpkin muffins. Even my kids asked for seconds. I didn't sprinkle extra nuts on the top, but I left everything else the same. This will most definetely be made again, perhaps on Christmas morning! WTG, Shana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by armygirl207
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have spent hours looking for recipes for Christmas dinner for the family and a Christmas party. I decided on this one, but wanted to try it first. So I whipped up a batch for a side to my husbands birthday dinner tonight. The outcome...this is defiantly a recipe that will be made for the Christmas party! We are in love with it. I did take some of the other comments into consideration and here are the only things I changed; Vanilla Greek yogurt (to be honest I am not a fan of Greek yogurt, but wanted it thick) Slenda brown sugar mixed pecans and walnuts mixed cherries and cranberries (both dried) Next time I will add Grapples with the apples to add some grape flavor as well Other then that its a wonderful recipe, and my husband has said that when I make it for the party he better be gone or I better make an extra batch (to which I already have to quadruple it) Thanks for the starter idea, I will be building on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
A really wonderful option for a winter salad. It's pretty sweet but the mixture of brown sugar and cinnamon with the apples is just perfect. We served it at a casual lunch with friends and it was really well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is delicious! Used half green apples and half red apples and did not peel them. I used plain greek yogurt for a thicker texture and about 1.5c craisins (sprinkled some on top along with the extra walnuts). It turned out great (not watery at all) and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Fantastic recipe!!! The only changes I made were that I also used dried cherries with the cranberries and I used vanilla greek yogurt (less runny and higher protein content) instead of plain. I made this for a potluck and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was very tasty, the sauce tastes like melted ice cream! However, I thought the sauce was a little "drippy" (also like melted ice cream). Not sure how to fix it, maybe by using sour cream instead of yogurt, or omitting the yogurt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Nice refreshing apple salad. Very different from my usual. We liked the addition of the brown sugar and cinnamon. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to toast the walnuts. The apples did not turn brown the second day when we packed leftovers in our lunches. Thanks Shana for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Simple and oh sooo goood! I used non fat Greek yogurt and 1/3 less fat cream cheese and pecans instead of walnuts, even with my changes it came out creamy and delicious! Thanks Shana for sharing your recipe! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States