Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I should have listened to the comments before trying this recipe. I like to follow the recipe first before changing anything BUT use less onion when you try this. It's an excellent recipe ---- very good, but a cup of red onions over powers the dressing. It was still good with the BIG onion flavor but I imagine better with less. I think next time I will use 1/3 cup. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This salad was WONDERFUL and will definitely make again. My picky dinner guests (parents) loved it as well. The only change I made was to reduce the amount of onion based upon feedback from other reviews. Next time, I will cut up the apples in to smaller pieces (rather than wedges) and I will soak them in a lemon/water bath to keep them from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
5 stars for the salad but only 2 for the dressing. I must have made the dressing incorrectly because others seemed to have loved it. Even though I used 1/3 C onion, it came out super thick and didn't look very appetizing. Next time, I think I will just run the cranberries through the processor and then wisk the rest of the ingredients by hand. The salad on the other hand, was fabulous! I coated the walnuts in a cinnamon sugar glaze (approx. 1/4 sugar, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 T water) and then toasted them. This really created depth to the walnuts. I'm usually not a fan of walnuts, but I couldn't stop munching on these! I also threw in a handful of dried cranberries and topped with feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Fabulous salad served for Thanksgiving dinner. The dressing was fantastic - I made a double batch so that I could have the leftovers! The only thing I changed is that rather than puree the cranberries, I actually simmer them for 10 minutes in the vinegar with the sugar and mustard, strained it and let it cool. I then hand-mixed it with a wisk rather than blend it. Past experience with blending dressings left them too frothy for my liking. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Delicious and open to lots of adjustments... I used less red onion and more (1/2 cup) cranberries as suggested by earlier reviews and pecans because I didn't have the walnuts. I also only made a small amount of salad and am saving the dressing for more later... absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow was this good! I read through the reviews before attempting this and I'm glad I did. I used 1/2 cup of red onion and that was definitely enough. I added a little more cranberries and more sugar. I also added a little apple cider vinegar. I like my salad dressing a bit thicker and don't like all the fat, so I used half the amount of oil. I chopped the apple instead of sliced and drizzled the dressing over the greens in individual salad bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Delicious. I doubled the cranberry and caramelized the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Very refreshing taste. I didn't have fresh cranberries so I used dry, and I also followed other member's advice and didn't add the onion to the food processor, and instead tossed it in with the greens. Tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a bit success for our Thanksgiving dinner. I used dried cranberries and olive oil. The dressing is thick but covers the salad nicely when tossed. I used fresh spinach. This was a refreshing twist on your typical spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Took this to our Harvest Celebration dinner at church and it was a real winner. You know it is good when the best cooks in the church ask for the recipe!!! I did modify it a bit by using only 1/2 cup of onion and a wee bit more sugar..........let me say again, this salad is a real winner! We will be having this again and again and again! PS.......I added a handful of crasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RITA51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States