Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS, love it. I renamed it "Michigan Symphony Salad" because the flavors blend like a lovely piece of music! Thanks for this amazing salad, I'll be serving it all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was excellent. A refreshing change from regular salad. I can never make dressing turn out, but this one worked very well. I took the advice of others and cut the red onion to less than 1/2 cup. It was still a very strong flavor in the dressing. I also only used 1/2 c. olive oil. Thanks for a great way to change up salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great salad! Many positive comments when I brought it to a large group dinner. I definitely cut back on the onion- as many suggested. I also carmelized my walnuts, and used gala apples since I'm not a big red delicious fan. By using a firmer flesh apple, it was able to hold up longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I thought this salad was delicious. I read some reviews that said the dressing was too thick but I completely disagree; even using less oil than the recipe calls for. I did however, blend this with an imulsion blender instead of in the food processor. I have already made this salad again and prefer it with sliced pears instead of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Great salad! The combination of the tart dressing with the sweet apples makes it really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
YUM!! This ranks right up with the Spinach strawberry salad. Couldn't stop eating it. I left out the onion (not a big raw onion fan) and used about a cup of craisens for the dressing. The dressing was really thick that way, but tossed in with the salad, it was very good. Will be making this again soon. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jj_howell27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was pretty good. I found the mustard in the dressing didn't really fit in with the apples and I also used less onions. I also added some swiss cheese and crasins to the salad. I'll make this again, just without the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very acidic, not very crazy about the taste. Did cut back the onion as stated by numerous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I used crazins bc I couldnt find any other kind. i love this so much that it will be a staple in my house. just the dressing is worth keeping on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I followed the suggestion of others and cut back on the onion. I have a bad habbit of never measuring things, so I would guess that I used about 1/4 cup of chopped onions in the dressing, and then added about another 1/4 cup slivered onions to the salad itself incase people wanted to pick them off. The walnuts were wonderful, and I would add more. I used honeycrisp apples in this as they are our favorite, and they were SO good in there. If you want more of a "bite" to the salad, you may want to add some crumbled feta cheese to the salad. This goes so well with turkey. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States