Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I thought this vinaigrette recipe was great! I used it for my Thanksgiving salad of field greens, walnuts, dried cranberries goat cheese and pomegranate seeds. Here's a hint to cut down on that biting "raw" onion flavor. Slice the onion before chopping and place in a strainer over the sink (try to arrange the slices so most are exposed). Pour very hot water (just off a boil) over the onions. The quick blanching will cut down on the raw bitterness and really helps balance the flavors. I also sub agave syrup for the white sugar for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow was this good! I read through the reviews before attempting this and I'm glad I did. I used 1/2 cup of red onion and that was definitely enough. I added a little more cranberries and more sugar. I also added a little apple cider vinegar. I like my salad dressing a bit thicker and don't like all the fat, so I used half the amount of oil. I chopped the apple instead of sliced and drizzled the dressing over the greens in individual salad bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent salad and easy to make. Even though it's simple, it's special enough to make for company or a potluck. I eyeballed the ingredients, and I probably used extra craisins and a little less onion. You could do other things with this recipe as a base, as others have noted, like add cinnamon sugar or spice to the walnuts, add cheese, or add extra cranberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I used less onion in the dressing and had to use dried cranberries because I couldn't find fresh. Still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Delicious recipe! Be sure to add the dressing gradually to the greens; I had way more dressing that I needed and it would have been overpowering if I used it all at once. The walnuts finish it off beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this last night for my Junior Woman's Club and it was gone gone gone! A few changes - I used Craisins because that is what I had on-hand, I added some cranberry juice (concentrate, from trader joe's) and, following the advice of some other reviewers, I chopped the red onions and tossed them with the salad rather than adding them to the vinaigrette. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS, love it. I renamed it "Michigan Symphony Salad" because the flavors blend like a lovely piece of music! Thanks for this amazing salad, I'll be serving it all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was excellent. A refreshing change from regular salad. I can never make dressing turn out, but this one worked very well. I took the advice of others and cut the red onion to less than 1/2 cup. It was still a very strong flavor in the dressing. I also only used 1/2 c. olive oil. Thanks for a great way to change up salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great salad! Many positive comments when I brought it to a large group dinner. I definitely cut back on the onion- as many suggested. I also carmelized my walnuts, and used gala apples since I'm not a big red delicious fan. By using a firmer flesh apple, it was able to hold up longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I thought this salad was delicious. I read some reviews that said the dressing was too thick but I completely disagree; even using less oil than the recipe calls for. I did however, blend this with an imulsion blender instead of in the food processor. I have already made this salad again and prefer it with sliced pears instead of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States