Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This has become an all time favorite of mine. I am a big time salad eater where my meal consists of a huge bowl of salad. The dressing for this salad is wonderful. I double the cranberries and keep everything else the same. Yummy! Yummy! I got the idea from seeing other salads to try this recipe with candied walnuts. So far, I've tried this recipe with cinnamon candied walnuts, regular candied walnuts, and store bought candied walnuts (Diamond brand, from Sam's Club) and all are excellent! I also add cucumber, carrots, red bell pepper, sliced onion, apples, (grapes if I have some on hand), lots of spinach and some salty feta cheese to finish on the top with the walnuts. Remember, this is my meal! I absolutely love this salad and all the fruits/veggies I add to this salad all compliment one another. The only thing I have found that doesn't fit are olives and tomatoes! Excellent recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love the combination of fruit and nuts in a salad and wanted to use some apples up. Our neighbors invited us over for dinner aand said they were having pork so I thought this would be a perfect combination. It was a big hit. I forgot the onion though! Added dried cherries. Would add blue or gorgonzola cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane M. O'Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Amazing salad with a few modifications. I candied the walnuts in a pan with some brown sugar instead of toasting them in the oven. I also put half the onion in the dressing and the other half directly in the salad. Threw some craisins in the salad as well. Also, I used craisins in the dressing, not fresh cranberries as some reviewers were saying. It was deeeeelish! Everyone was talking about it at a dinner party I brought it to. :) Oh, one more thing! I added goat cheese to the salad and it was SO yum with the apples and cranberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The salad was very good and the dressing is out of this world. This was my first attempt at a salad dressing and went so well that I can't wait to try another. Just a note, I used shaved almonds because that is what I had and it was still good. Also, per recommendation of previous reviewers, did not add the onion to the dressing but directly to the salad. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPROC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was excellent, though next time I'll use a little less of the onion. To compensate for how strong it was, I just added more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
An excellent seasonal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Yumm - I made this salad for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit with my guests. I got lots of compliments on the dressing. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut way back on the onion and also glazed the walnuts prior to toasting. I also sprinkled Craisins on the individually plated salads prior to serving. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this recipe on Christmas eve and it got rave reviews from all our guests! I added a few extra dried cranberry to make it a little more festive, as well as some toasted pine nuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Excellent salad! I made this at our xmas eve party and even the men asked who made the salad?? It was gobbled up very quickly. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The dressing was a little thick, easy to fix with a little more vinegar. Used red d'anjou pears, bleu cheese, and sliced the onions. Perfect holiday salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlthompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States