Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
When using an onion in any recipe like this, always buy large onions because they are milder. Also, you can soak the cut pieces of onion in water to lessen the strength of the strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My family and I loved this salad. I followed one of the users suggestion of coating the walnuts in a cinnamon/sugar glaze and adding dried cranberries. I omitted the onion from the recipe mainly because I'm just not a fan of onion but I wouldn't be opposed to trying it later just to see the difference. I thought the dressing was fine without. It is a little thick but does the job - once it's tossed it's no big deal! Next time i will also try with feta and also will cut the apples into smaller pieces instead of wedges. This salad is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Dressing was to thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I'm not a big salad person but this one definitely changed my mind! I made a few slight changes. I toasted the walnuts with a little bit of melted butter and cinnamon and sugar. It was a great contrast to the dressing. Also, I used the cranberries and onions in the salad dressing as well as adding them whole to the salad itself. First I softened the dried cranberries with a little bit of cinnamon water. I found that making the dressing a night or two before gave it better flavor. This dish won first prize at my work potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was delicious! The roasted walnuts are perfect! Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Rule

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I was looking for a fall salad to go with a dinner I was cooking and this was perfect. I didn't have the cranberries so I just left those out. And I substituted the walnuts for pecans. But my whole family really enjoyed it. The onions were a little much but overall it was good. It was so much better than putting dressing on some lettuce and that is it! The apples gave it a really good crunch! I will definitly be trying this with the cranberries next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiJO
Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is an incredibly good salad! The recipe does make WAY to much dressing, though...I would cut the recipe in half next time. I did make a couple of changes...first of all, I doubled the amount of walnuts, and instead of toasting them, I put about 1 tbs. brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. water in a saucepan, brought it to a boil, stirred in the walnuts, and after the nuts were coated, stirred in about 1/2 cup more brown sugar, and some salt and pepper. I stirred it up, removed from the heat, and allowed to cool on some foil. These were FANTASTIC on the salad, for some reason, they tasted incredible with the dressing. I also added some dried cranberries, because I wanted more cranberry flavor than the light taste in the dressing. With these changes, this salad was one of the best I've ever eaten! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Fantastic! I used less onion as recommended and used toasted pecans instead of walnuts because that is what my family prefers and added a little bit of shredded mozzarrella. Great salad! Will definitely be making again! Update: made this for a dinner party and everyone went back for seconds! I was even asked for the recipe which means it is extremely good! It is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I cut down the amount of onion as mentioned by other reviewers. I did not have cranberries so I substituted craisens in the dressing, then sprinkled some on with the apples. Everyone wanted second helpings and my guests all asked for the recipe. This is one salad I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This has become an all time favorite of mine. I am a big time salad eater where my meal consists of a huge bowl of salad. The dressing for this salad is wonderful. I double the cranberries and keep everything else the same. Yummy! Yummy! I got the idea from seeing other salads to try this recipe with candied walnuts. So far, I've tried this recipe with cinnamon candied walnuts, regular candied walnuts, and store bought candied walnuts (Diamond brand, from Sam's Club) and all are excellent! I also add cucumber, carrots, red bell pepper, sliced onion, apples, (grapes if I have some on hand), lots of spinach and some salty feta cheese to finish on the top with the walnuts. Remember, this is my meal! I absolutely love this salad and all the fruits/veggies I add to this salad all compliment one another. The only thing I have found that doesn't fit are olives and tomatoes! Excellent recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States