Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I can't tell you how many times I've made this, I love it!! I modified it slightly, I only use 1/3 cup of the onions, green apples, and add gorgonzola cheese. Thank you for a quick and great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Good salad. Put the onions in the salad and NOT the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This salad is wonderfully easy to put together. I served it with a homemade turkey pot pie and they went well together. I left the dressing a little chunky. It was more appealing visually and it was nice to get an occasional bit of cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
did follow other reviews to decrease the red onion..tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this salad for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I did change a few things based on prior comments. I only used 1/2 cup of onions, increased the cranberries to 1/2 cup, added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and 1 cup of crumbled blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
As many of the other reviews recommended, I used less onion than the recipe calls for. I used maybe a 1/2 cup and it was very good, but next time I would go with only 1/3 cup. Otherwise, this recipe is great. Even my parents who tend to like plain, boring food liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this for a ladies event at my church. It is absolutely delicious!!! I made more than enough to go around and an hour later when it was time to eat dessert everyone went for more salad!!!! I didn't change very much. I added extra apples and used 3 different kinds. I candied the walnuts and added gorgonzola cheese to the salad. It is beautiful and I will be making it for Christmas dinner along with almost everyone from my church!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great recipe! It's the first time I make a vinaigrette and I was very satisfied with it. I did some modifications though. As others suggested I reduced the amount of onion for the vinaigrette so I used 1/4 cup. I also reduced the oil amount to 3/4 and used canola oil. First I mixed the sugar, onions, balsamic vinegar, and mustard on a bowl. I pureed the cranberries and then added the mixture from the bowl into the food processor and pureed the mix. I then added the oil. It had the perfect consistency for a dressing, not thick at all, but not completely runny either. I also followed chibi chef's suggestion to glaze the walnuts and I was very happy with the flavor they added to the salad. I only used one red delicious apple (chopped in small pieces) instead of two and it added just a sweet flavor to contrast the vinaigrette. Overall a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I added some orange juice to thin out the dressing without adding more fat. It really boosted the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States