Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
GREAT salad! I made it for my son's 5th birthday party and everyone really liked it. People were asking about the dressing, saying it was really good. I cut back on the onions adding only 1/3 cup based on others' reviews. I also whisked the dressing together, because of someone's review of the food processor making it "frothy" (ew). And I chopped the dried cranberries by hand. VERY tastey! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love this salad! Whenever I make it, I make extra dressing so we can have it to use for a while afterwards. I add feta because I love it, and I reduced the red onion to only a small amount just because I don't like to have onion breath. Other than that, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
WAY too much onion, it was all I could taste and I only added 1/2 of the dressing. But I did get compliments on it so it's worth trying again, I think. Next time I'll try more of a mustardy vinaigrette with white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for a Christmas day dinner. The apple-walnut-cranberry-onion combination was good, but the dressing wasn't so wonderful. It tasted good, but the appearance of it was not very appealing. It was thick and clung to the salad leaves alright, but the red color and thick texture just didn't look very nice at all. Don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A great, filling salad. Terrific for an evening meal when you had a huge lunch and need just a "little something."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Salad was a hit! Never the type to measure exactly but nevertheless everyone loved my dish and left with an empty bowl. Used whatever I had in my fridge/pantry. 1C walnuts, 1/2 crasins vs cranberry, 1 small wht onion, 1T spicy brown mustard, canola oil and didn't have to use salt & pepper. Yes, dressing came out thick but it coated the greens very well and the extra walnuts were loved by all the nut fans. Planning on making more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Loved it! Apples are just coming into season so it was a fun way to celebrate the fall season =) The dressing complemented the other flavors very well - I used a white balsamic raspberry-blush vinegar (or something like that...) because I had it. We loved it! I think a little goat cheese would be a great addition for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Different take on the same ingredients. Nice to mix it up and add the cranberries to the dressing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved this, but I made an alteration and will make another the next time I make this. I did not put the red onion in the dressing as the recipe says, I simply sprinkled it on top of the salad when I was putting it together. I probably only used about a 1/3 of a cup, too. Also, the dressing was a little too thick for our family's liking so I would reduce the sugar (the dressing thickening agent) to 2 tsps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States