Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Good recipe but a little bland. I upped the dijon mustard and salt and ended up with a dressing everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I reduced the red onion, per multiple reviewer suggestion, and found that even 1/4 of a red onion (about 1/3 cup) was still way too much. It was very distracting from the salad. Next time I'm going to go down to 1/4 cup (if that much). I'm sure this recipe will be perfect once the onion is properly adjusted - but the onion just way to much. (Are we sure 1 cup of red onion isn't a type-o?) Oh - and cranberry jelly from the can worked fine. Served the leftover jelly with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
We found the dressing to be way too strong with the amount of onion - will try again with half of the required amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I had this salad with spinich as the green.....it was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was outstanding! I cut back on the onion as I am not a big fan, and I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's all I had on hand. The dressing has just the right amount of tartness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was too oily for my taste. It was good, but it didn't knock my socks off. I doubled the cranberries and used half the onions as suggested. I ended up adding more onions, and I should have added more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The vinaigrette was outstanding. The salad was a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This salad is amazing! I LOVE the dressing so much. The only change I make to the dressing is to use less onion (about a 1/4 of a LARGE onion) and to use only 1/2 cup of olive oil, other than that I follow it exactly and it comes out delicious! I ususally use a mixed greens/baby spinach combo for the lettuce and add crumbled fat free feta cheese to the toppings - SO, SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
GREAT salad! I made it for my son's 5th birthday party and everyone really liked it. People were asking about the dressing, saying it was really good. I cut back on the onions adding only 1/3 cup based on others' reviews. I also whisked the dressing together, because of someone's review of the food processor making it "frothy" (ew). And I chopped the dried cranberries by hand. VERY tastey! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love this salad! Whenever I make it, I make extra dressing so we can have it to use for a while afterwards. I add feta because I love it, and I reduced the red onion to only a small amount just because I don't like to have onion breath. Other than that, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States