Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
OMG! Can you say, "Way too many onions?" Otherwise, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES THIS SALAD, EVERY PARTY I HAVE TO MAKE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
very good! Served at Thanksgiving and Christmas and a big hit with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
5 stars for the salad but only 2 for the dressing. I must have made the dressing incorrectly because others seemed to have loved it. Even though I used 1/3 C onion, it came out super thick and didn't look very appetizing. Next time, I think I will just run the cranberries through the processor and then wisk the rest of the ingredients by hand. The salad on the other hand, was fabulous! I coated the walnuts in a cinnamon sugar glaze (approx. 1/4 sugar, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 T water) and then toasted them. This really created depth to the walnuts. I'm usually not a fan of walnuts, but I couldn't stop munching on these! I also threw in a handful of dried cranberries and topped with feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Fabulous salad served for Thanksgiving dinner. The dressing was fantastic - I made a double batch so that I could have the leftovers! The only thing I changed is that rather than puree the cranberries, I actually simmer them for 10 minutes in the vinegar with the sugar and mustard, strained it and let it cool. I then hand-mixed it with a wisk rather than blend it. Past experience with blending dressings left them too frothy for my liking. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great recipe for a delicious homemade recipe! Only thing I would recommend is use half the suggested amount of onions. I made the recipe to the specs and ened up adding more of everything else to balance the strong onion taste. I also love cranberries so I added more cranberries to really taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Love the apples and walnuts in this salad. The dressing is also great, but I will put in less onion and more cranberries next time. I liked the thickness of the dressing and didn't actually add all the oil that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a bit success for our Thanksgiving dinner. I used dried cranberries and olive oil. The dressing is thick but covers the salad nicely when tossed. I used fresh spinach. This was a refreshing twist on your typical spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner this year and it was delicious. The dressing does have quite the onion bite but I liked it. I used canola oil instead of vegetable and next time I would use olive oil as I think it makes a better viniagrette. I also think it needed more oil, it was a very thick dressing. But alltogether really good and well received at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States