Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for a Christmas day dinner. The apple-walnut-cranberry-onion combination was good, but the dressing wasn't so wonderful. It tasted good, but the appearance of it was not very appealing. It was thick and clung to the salad leaves alright, but the red color and thick texture just didn't look very nice at all. Don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A great, filling salad. Terrific for an evening meal when you had a huge lunch and need just a "little something."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Salad was a hit! Never the type to measure exactly but nevertheless everyone loved my dish and left with an empty bowl. Used whatever I had in my fridge/pantry. 1C walnuts, 1/2 crasins vs cranberry, 1 small wht onion, 1T spicy brown mustard, canola oil and didn't have to use salt & pepper. Yes, dressing came out thick but it coated the greens very well and the extra walnuts were loved by all the nut fans. Planning on making more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Loved it! Apples are just coming into season so it was a fun way to celebrate the fall season =) The dressing complemented the other flavors very well - I used a white balsamic raspberry-blush vinegar (or something like that...) because I had it. We loved it! I think a little goat cheese would be a great addition for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Different take on the same ingredients. Nice to mix it up and add the cranberries to the dressing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved this, but I made an alteration and will make another the next time I make this. I did not put the red onion in the dressing as the recipe says, I simply sprinkled it on top of the salad when I was putting it together. I probably only used about a 1/3 of a cup, too. Also, the dressing was a little too thick for our family's liking so I would reduce the sugar (the dressing thickening agent) to 2 tsps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Definitely needs fewer onions than stated in the recipe, but otherwise very good! I used half the oil (olive, not vegetable) and subbed applesauce for the other half. Toasted the walnuts and added some white cheddar and it was fantastic. There was plenty of dressing left over, which I am sure will only get better tomorrow. Next time I'll make the dressing the day before to give the flavors a chance to "settle."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Good salad for entertaining or bringing to a BBQ. Dressing went well with apples and walnuts. Added cranberries on top and fresh baby spinach. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikaak

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Usually not a big fan of nuts and fruits in my salad, but this was great. The dressing was definitely the best part, and I wanted to drink it! Five stars for the dressing alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States