Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was outstanding! I cut back on the onion as I am not a big fan, and I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's all I had on hand. The dressing has just the right amount of tartness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was too oily for my taste. It was good, but it didn't knock my socks off. I doubled the cranberries and used half the onions as suggested. I ended up adding more onions, and I should have added more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The vinaigrette was outstanding. The salad was a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This salad is amazing! I LOVE the dressing so much. The only change I make to the dressing is to use less onion (about a 1/4 of a LARGE onion) and to use only 1/2 cup of olive oil, other than that I follow it exactly and it comes out delicious! I ususally use a mixed greens/baby spinach combo for the lettuce and add crumbled fat free feta cheese to the toppings - SO, SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
GREAT salad! I made it for my son's 5th birthday party and everyone really liked it. People were asking about the dressing, saying it was really good. I cut back on the onions adding only 1/3 cup based on others' reviews. I also whisked the dressing together, because of someone's review of the food processor making it "frothy" (ew). And I chopped the dried cranberries by hand. VERY tastey! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love this salad! Whenever I make it, I make extra dressing so we can have it to use for a while afterwards. I add feta because I love it, and I reduced the red onion to only a small amount just because I don't like to have onion breath. Other than that, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
WAY too much onion, it was all I could taste and I only added 1/2 of the dressing. But I did get compliments on it so it's worth trying again, I think. Next time I'll try more of a mustardy vinaigrette with white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for a Christmas day dinner. The apple-walnut-cranberry-onion combination was good, but the dressing wasn't so wonderful. It tasted good, but the appearance of it was not very appealing. It was thick and clung to the salad leaves alright, but the red color and thick texture just didn't look very nice at all. Don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A great, filling salad. Terrific for an evening meal when you had a huge lunch and need just a "little something."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Salad was a hit! Never the type to measure exactly but nevertheless everyone loved my dish and left with an empty bowl. Used whatever I had in my fridge/pantry. 1C walnuts, 1/2 crasins vs cranberry, 1 small wht onion, 1T spicy brown mustard, canola oil and didn't have to use salt & pepper. Yes, dressing came out thick but it coated the greens very well and the extra walnuts were loved by all the nut fans. Planning on making more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States