Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I reduced the red onion, per multiple reviewer suggestion, and found that even 1/4 of a red onion (about 1/3 cup) was still way too much. It was very distracting from the salad. Next time I'm going to go down to 1/4 cup (if that much). I'm sure this recipe will be perfect once the onion is properly adjusted - but the onion just way to much. (Are we sure 1 cup of red onion isn't a type-o?) Oh - and cranberry jelly from the can worked fine. Served the leftover jelly with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
We found the dressing to be way too strong with the amount of onion - will try again with half of the required amount...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I had this salad with spinich as the green.....it was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was outstanding! I cut back on the onion as I am not a big fan, and I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's all I had on hand. The dressing has just the right amount of tartness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was too oily for my taste. It was good, but it didn't knock my socks off. I doubled the cranberries and used half the onions as suggested. I ended up adding more onions, and I should have added more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The vinaigrette was outstanding. The salad was a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This salad is amazing! I LOVE the dressing so much. The only change I make to the dressing is to use less onion (about a 1/4 of a LARGE onion) and to use only 1/2 cup of olive oil, other than that I follow it exactly and it comes out delicious! I ususally use a mixed greens/baby spinach combo for the lettuce and add crumbled fat free feta cheese to the toppings - SO, SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
GREAT salad! I made it for my son's 5th birthday party and everyone really liked it. People were asking about the dressing, saying it was really good. I cut back on the onions adding only 1/3 cup based on others' reviews. I also whisked the dressing together, because of someone's review of the food processor making it "frothy" (ew). And I chopped the dried cranberries by hand. VERY tastey! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love this salad! Whenever I make it, I make extra dressing so we can have it to use for a while afterwards. I add feta because I love it, and I reduced the red onion to only a small amount just because I don't like to have onion breath. Other than that, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
WAY too much onion, it was all I could taste and I only added 1/2 of the dressing. But I did get compliments on it so it's worth trying again, I think. Next time I'll try more of a mustardy vinaigrette with white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States