Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I got rave reviews for this salad at a potluck. I increased cranberries to 1/2C and decreased onions to 1/3C. I also used regular mustard but only 1/2 tsp. and extra virgin olive ol instead of vegetable oil. I used a blender instead of a food processor and it worked fine. A very good dressing that I will make to have on hand for other salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I had been wanting to try this for a while and thought it would be great with the pork roast recipe I was making. Anyhow, I cannot tell you how disappointed I was with this. The only reason it is getting two stars is because my husband liked the flavor. I could only handle one bit and gave the rest to him. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I can't figure out what, but I must have done something REALLY wrong. I used half the onions, more cranberries, more sugar and extra virgin olive oil and mine was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I followed the recipe perfectly, but the dressing just tasted like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This salad is Super! I used mixed baby greens---makes it quick and easy. Also added bleu cheese (a little goes a long way!) Next time I will try dried cranberries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
My family loved this salad. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner. I used Extra Virgin Olive oil in place of the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
If you thinly slice the red onions rather than adding them to the dressing you can control the amount of onion flavor - plus it's prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This salad was TERRIBLE. I may as well have had my guests bite into a raw onion! Even the odor of the dressing was overpoweringly that of onion. I suggest renaming this salad Onion Salad or possibly Trail of Tears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This salad was wonderful! As suggested, I added another 1/2 cup of cranberries and a bit more sugar. I didn't even toast the walnuts--just chopped and added to salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I forgot to follow reviewers advice. I followed the recipe adding 1 cup red onion to the vinaigrette. Strong onion taste dominated the entire salad. I suggest you cut WAY back on the amount of red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States