Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by peachijane2
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very easy recipe. I also took the advice from the comments and divided the sugar between the egg mixture and the apples. The cake came out perfect, even though I forgot to add the walnuts. Served it with vanilla ice cream and homemade caramel sauce!!! Will be my new go to recipe and dessert for Thanksgiving!!! Another comment is that is was very moist and everyone in my family loved it, my granddaughter couldn't stop saying how much she loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great cake I did what others suggested with the sugar the only thing I did different was adding a splash of fresh cider to the chopped Apple's. Next time I make it I will not bake it for sixty minutes but Will check it at 55! Cake was moist and light.I did dust it with powdered Sugar but a glaze would top if off! DELISH!! Oh, I added a half cup raisins..Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Have made this cake many times through the years. I was taught to core and chop the apples, pour all of sugar over apples and refrigerate for an hour. This way apples and sugar make their own juice making cake very dense and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great recipe. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made the apple walnut cake for Christmas, it turned out tasty, but dry. When i made the dough, i felt like sth. was missing, it was not moist enough then already. Overall it turned out good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this cake, but changed the process. Mixed the sugar, flour, soda, cinnamon and salt together. Beat the eggs, oil and vanilla separately, then added to flour mixture. Batter is very thick. Then I added the apples and nuts and poured/spread into a 9X13 pan and baked for 40 minutes. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I think this is a fantastic recipe. When I was younger my first job was in a bakery, and they used to sell an apple walnut cake. They would never give me the recipe, but this one is the one I've been searching for forever! I did take the suggestion of beating half the sugar with the oil and eggs, and it turned out perfect. I didn't have a bunt pan, so I used a nine-inch spring form pan. It worked, but the center was a little burnt, so I would definitely reccomend using the bunt pan. The batter looks as if it's going to be very dry, but the moisture from the apples keeps it moist. I topped it with dulce de leche (sort of like caramel) and crushed walnuts. It's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very moist, and it looked exactly as in the picture. Everyone in my office loved it. But the only problem was I could not taste the apple but everything else. I could definetaly tasted the sugar so maybe next time I will put less sugar. But other than that my coworkers enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I used 1/2 sugar as well on the apples, other half I used brown sugar, also substituted applesauce for oil for a bit more healthier, very moist and turned out nice and dark with the brown sugar. No need for icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I made it first for Christmas dinner. I made up an easy little icing of cream cheese, apples and walnuts along with powdered sugar and a splash of milk. My 2 brothers said it was the best cake ever. In fact, my sister and I always have a "competition" and I was crowned champ :). This past weekend I made the cake again along with my icing for some family that was visiting - we actually had it while it was still warm and the icing was gooey - OH MY GOSH - it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States