Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Vgc bbbvxz. N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Messy recipe but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Crazy easy to make, and you end up looking like a baking genius. (Thank you, puff pastry!) I use a variety of apples, and I don't bother with the lemon bath because I'm cooking the apples down and they turn beautifully brown anyway. Next time, I'm going to experiment with cutting the puff pastry smaller to make fun-size pastry bites for a cider-pressing party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made this tonight..., Was a HUGE Success... I did cook the apples a bit longer (4 minutes) and I let the cool almost completely before I added them to the pastry dough. Loved them... Thanks for the recipe.. it is definitely in my recipe box...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
These are easy to make, deliceous, and fun! I traded the apples for strawberries, the brown sugar for normal sugar, and the ground cinnamon for hot chocolate powder! They were so good that I just have to make them again! P.s. If you use regular sugar and 3 table spoons of milk in the glaze it is so much better. P.p.s it is more fun if you leave the glaze on the side ( and color it) and dip the turnover in, and you can replace the puff pastry sheets with pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Yes, definately use an egg wash & I would only bake them about 17 mins. Took mine out at 20 & they were pretty brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rica
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I had left over sauce from the apple mixture so I drizzled it on top of the turnovers instead of the icing mixture and it tasted even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My main difficulty with these was that the apples made a ton of very liquid sauce that even extra cornstarch and some flour couldn't thicken. I decided to leave most of it out of the turnovers (it would have been quite a mess) and reduce it more over the stove to make a syrup for pancakes. Delicious! Also sort of annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awesome, used cherries. House smelled like a bakery! Peach next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
LOVED the filling. However, I had trouble with it leaking out and burning on the bottom of the turnover. I even used the fork trying to seal them better. Didn't really care for the glaze. If I make them again, I'll just leave it off. Definitely need the egg wash if you want them to look shiny like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States