Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made this tonight..., Was a HUGE Success... I did cook the apples a bit longer (4 minutes) and I let the cool almost completely before I added them to the pastry dough. Loved them... Thanks for the recipe.. it is definitely in my recipe box...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
These are easy to make, deliceous, and fun! I traded the apples for strawberries, the brown sugar for normal sugar, and the ground cinnamon for hot chocolate powder! They were so good that I just have to make them again! P.s. If you use regular sugar and 3 table spoons of milk in the glaze it is so much better. P.p.s it is more fun if you leave the glaze on the side ( and color it) and dip the turnover in, and you can replace the puff pastry sheets with pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Yes, definately use an egg wash & I would only bake them about 17 mins. Took mine out at 20 & they were pretty brown on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rica
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I had left over sauce from the apple mixture so I drizzled it on top of the turnovers instead of the icing mixture and it tasted even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My main difficulty with these was that the apples made a ton of very liquid sauce that even extra cornstarch and some flour couldn't thicken. I decided to leave most of it out of the turnovers (it would have been quite a mess) and reduce it more over the stove to make a syrup for pancakes. Delicious! Also sort of annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awesome, used cherries. House smelled like a bakery! Peach next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
LOVED the filling. However, I had trouble with it leaking out and burning on the bottom of the turnover. I even used the fork trying to seal them better. Didn't really care for the glaze. If I make them again, I'll just leave it off. Definitely need the egg wash if you want them to look shiny like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was amazing - better than I ever could have guessed it would be. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
DEFINITELY A KEEPER! Easy and looks like it came from the bakery. Small cube apples vs slicing them. Omit soaking in lemon water. Make sure they are cooled before filling in pastry. I tried smaller ones and folded them to look like rectangle vs triangle shape and also tried the bigger piece making it into a triangle. Both are great, husband prefers larger pieces. With the smaller ones I used rolling pin to to make a little larger to hold filling. I omitted glaze and put egg wash on each piece and sprinkled with sugar. Basically, all the suggestions of former reviews. Sure helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent!! I put cream cheese in the glaze....awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States