Apple Turkey Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I am not a big fan of turkey, let alone left over. This was a great way to use some of the remaining meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a great recipe. It was really easy to do and the family didn't even notice they were eating xmas left over turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Pretty good. This gave me some great pot pie recipe ideas. Who would ever think of putting in apples?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
My family really enjoys this potpie! It's great for leftover turkey or chicken. I substitute craisins for the raisins which complements the turkey well. I also use cream of celery soup instead because it has a milder flavor than cream of chicken. If I have any leftover gravy, I throw that in with the soup for a more homemade flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
this sounded like a good way to use up some of the leftover turkey from thanksgiving. but i didn't like it at all. i hate to waste food, but i just couldn't bring my self to finish this. if i ever did attempt to make this again i would omit the raisins and peel the apples (maybe not use them at all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
It was okay, but my family and I found it really bland. It needs something to give it some more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
We LOVED this. Usually I make a recipe as stated then see if I want to make any changes, but with some of the previous comments I decided to try some changes - sorry. So many people hate reviews with modifications. We used 2 packages of seamless refrigerator crescent rolls for a top & bottom 'crust' rolled to 'stretch' a little. I doubled the onion and added 1c diced celery. I only had 1 can of cream soup so I also used a can of turkey gravy. I added tarragon, poultry seasoning & celery seed. I omitted the raisins. It cooked in less than 20min, everything cooked together on the stove top previously so we just needed to get the crust 'golden'. It really was spectacular, loved the apple in it, it was like a mini Thanksgiving all over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was very good but I did make some changes. I did not use condensed soup. Instead after I sautéed onion, chopped celery and sliced mushrooms, I added 2 TB butter. After it melted, 2 TB flour next. When it was blended, I added 2 1/2 cups turkey broth. (I had just cooked my turkey carcass and so had lots of broth but chicken would be great too.) After it was slightly thickened I added the remaining ingredients (crasins instead of raisins) and followed the recipe. My husband REALLY liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States