Apple Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I can't believe I'm the first to try this recipe! It was good but next time I'm going to sprinkle the bread with some cinnamon/Splenda & then sprinkle some more on top of the apples. I used a refrigerated butter spray instead of butter. I'd say I had enough apple for 2 slices of bread, not 4. Great, quick snack & thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I tried this last night and LOVED it! I toasted the bread first and that helped it to not get too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I used WAY less than a tbsp of cinnamon for four slices of toast. This is delicious as is, but is even better with a drizzle of honey or even a little brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is great for an easy, quick and delicious snack. I used whole grain bread that I toasted first and light butter. I also used cinnamon sugar vs. just cinnamon. I love apples and this really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
What a wonderful healthy after school snack. My daughter loves apples, but since she got her braces, she has not been able to eat them. She also loves cinnomon toast....this combination was just what we were looking for. The broiler gently toasted the bread, while the apples were, "oh, so tender". I would suggest using an apple peeler/corer/slicer to achieve the very thin slices needed for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We substituted peanut butter for the butter - my 7 yr. old loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
i took other reviews to heart and sprinkled the buttered bread with a touch of brown sugar and cinnamon, piled on the apples 1/2 a medium granny smith and then more brown sugar and cinnamon. under the broiler on low for 5 minutes and delish. bread wasn't soggy, just not toasted, but i still liked it. would be great with a touch of whipped cream on top. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Made this for the kids today for after school snack. It was alright. It tasted much better when dipped in hot cocoa. I think it needs a little extra sugar. Also I baked mine at 450 for 10 min. It came out perfectly toasted and the apples were softened just right too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
My husband and I loved this on fresh french bread from our bread machine. We added brown sugar and used granny smith apples. My kids just loved eating the bread plain with sliced plain apples on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This even makes a great breakfast! I sauteed the apples for just a bit due to the fact that my daughter and I are allergic to raw apples. I then followed the recipe and it was delicious! Thanks so much Natalie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States