Apple Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Tasty and easy to make. I didn't have white sugar, but brown sugar. I used store bought pastry and it worked out nicely. Next time I'll try with the white sugar, which I hope will be tastier caramelized that the brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dysprosium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent. After watching the video I did some research on the tarte, learned it was originally made with puff pastry, which I happened to have on hand, so that's what I used. I made it with Honey Crisp apples and, as per other reviewers, I added cinnamon and also a dash of ground cloves. The tarte came out of the pan perfectly, although I have to say there was more moisture in my tarte than in Chef John's, which probably helped. Delicious, oh so easy. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving. It's really nice to have such a great looking dessert that one can put together so quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is my new favorite recipe. The video tutorial made it so, so easy and it turned out amazing! Thank you so much!!! I can't wait to surprise my friends the next time I bring something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written (including the suggested pastry) after watching the video. I think that anyone making this for the first time should view the video before beginning - it shows a lot that the recipe can't explain. Everything turned out very well and I was pleased. My rating is based more on personal preference, rather than how successfully it turned out. I gave a "4" because I found the Granny Smith apples a bit tart for my liking and craved a bit of cinnamon to add depth to the flavour. I will definitely make this again (SO easy!) and just change to variety of apple (Gala, maybe?) and add a bit of cinnamon. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Just made this, it came out just as pictured it looked perfect.The flavor of the dish though imo was just average.This is an easy dish to make even for first timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robinson
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really enjoyed preparing this tarte tatin..great recipe by the chef with clear instructions....the tart was crip and amazing even on my first attempt...I did reduce the sugar (I don't like it too sweet) and experimented with some additional berries ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very simple to make and so good! Definitely watch the video first, it will clear up any questions you may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My first attempt at preparing Chef John's apple tart tatin was a success! I found Chef John's instructions on his video very easy to follow. Made it for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone LOVED it. Just returned from France where I had apple tart tatin three times. This recipe was the BEST of them all! Won't hesitate to make it again! Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Not an easy thing to make. Ranked this a 2 mostly because it isn't to get the pie to turn out. If you want that nice ruffle edge. I may have cooked longer than I should've in the skillet because I didn't have much "sauce". It tasted fine, but my preference would be to add cinnamon & double the sauce. Think we'll just stick with the regular apple pie even though this is easier by just quartering the apples instead of slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States