Apple Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very simple to make and so good! Definitely watch the video first, it will clear up any questions you may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really enjoyed preparing this tarte tatin..great recipe by the chef with clear instructions....the tart was crip and amazing even on my first attempt...I did reduce the sugar (I don't like it too sweet) and experimented with some additional berries ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I loved the simplicity of the recipe and it tasted amazing. Take the 5 mins and watch the video...it really does help understand the instructions. I made minor changes. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and I used Gala apples because that's what I had on hand. I cheated and used a Pillsbury pie crust and it did not disappoint. Before I put it in the oven, I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples. I think that was an important addition. When I flipped it, it looked picture perfect...just like Chef John's. When I make it again, I will double the apples. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pam, if you watch his video on this recipe it shows exactly how he does it and takes the mystery of the butter away. We plan on making this with the added bonus of watching his video first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a marvelous recipe. It was so very delicious that I have made 3 in 2 weeks. Being adventurous, it sounded kind of like a pecan sticky bun which I adore, so I included whole pecans just before the carmelized apples were to go into the oven. Then I topped it with some cinnamen and topped it with the crust. It was appreciated by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My first attempt at preparing Chef John's apple tart tatin was a success! I found Chef John's instructions on his video very easy to follow. Made it for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone LOVED it. Just returned from France where I had apple tart tatin three times. This recipe was the BEST of them all! Won't hesitate to make it again! Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robinson
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is incredibly easy and so-o-oo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiltingqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used medium sliced apples and packed them closer together. Also used shredded almonds and 1 tsp cinnamon. Being very naughty I used store bought puff pastry. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique
Home Town: Lahr, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written (including the suggested pastry) after watching the video. I think that anyone making this for the first time should view the video before beginning - it shows a lot that the recipe can't explain. Everything turned out very well and I was pleased. My rating is based more on personal preference, rather than how successfully it turned out. I gave a "4" because I found the Granny Smith apples a bit tart for my liking and craved a bit of cinnamon to add depth to the flavour. I will definitely make this again (SO easy!) and just change to variety of apple (Gala, maybe?) and add a bit of cinnamon. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States