Apple Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I loved the simplicity of the recipe and it tasted amazing. Take the 5 mins and watch the video...it really does help understand the instructions. I made minor changes. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and I used Gala apples because that's what I had on hand. I cheated and used a Pillsbury pie crust and it did not disappoint. Before I put it in the oven, I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples. I think that was an important addition. When I flipped it, it looked picture perfect...just like Chef John's. When I make it again, I will double the apples. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pam, if you watch his video on this recipe it shows exactly how he does it and takes the mystery of the butter away. We plan on making this with the added bonus of watching his video first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Harbeck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My first attempt at preparing Chef John's apple tart tatin was a success! I found Chef John's instructions on his video very easy to follow. Made it for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone LOVED it. Just returned from France where I had apple tart tatin three times. This recipe was the BEST of them all! Won't hesitate to make it again! Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a marvelous recipe. It was so very delicious that I have made 3 in 2 weeks. Being adventurous, it sounded kind of like a pecan sticky bun which I adore, so I included whole pecans just before the carmelized apples were to go into the oven. Then I topped it with some cinnamen and topped it with the crust. It was appreciated by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very simple to make and so good! Definitely watch the video first, it will clear up any questions you may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really enjoyed preparing this tarte tatin..great recipe by the chef with clear instructions....the tart was crip and amazing even on my first attempt...I did reduce the sugar (I don't like it too sweet) and experimented with some additional berries ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is incredibly easy and so-o-oo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiltingqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robinson
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is my new favorite recipe. The video tutorial made it so, so easy and it turned out amazing! Thank you so much!!! I can't wait to surprise my friends the next time I bring something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent. After watching the video I did some research on the tarte, learned it was originally made with puff pastry, which I happened to have on hand, so that's what I used. I made it with Honey Crisp apples and, as per other reviewers, I added cinnamon and also a dash of ground cloves. The tarte came out of the pan perfectly, although I have to say there was more moisture in my tarte than in Chef John's, which probably helped. Delicious, oh so easy. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving. It's really nice to have such a great looking dessert that one can put together so quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States