Apple Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pam, if you watch his video on this recipe it shows exactly how he does it and takes the mystery of the butter away. We plan on making this with the added bonus of watching his video first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a marvelous recipe. It was so very delicious that I have made 3 in 2 weeks. Being adventurous, it sounded kind of like a pecan sticky bun which I adore, so I included whole pecans just before the carmelized apples were to go into the oven. Then I topped it with some cinnamen and topped it with the crust. It was appreciated by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used medium sliced apples and packed them closer together. Also used shredded almonds and 1 tsp cinnamon. Being very naughty I used store bought puff pastry. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique
Home Town: Lahr, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Didn't have a skillet I can put in the over, so I cooked on the fire in a non stick frying pan and the transferred to a pe dish. my dish is 8inch and hence I used only 2 apples, 1/3 cup sugar and 70g butter. Came out extremely tasty. Needs icecream/custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I loved the simplicity of the recipe and it tasted amazing. Take the 5 mins and watch the video...it really does help understand the instructions. I made minor changes. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and I used Gala apples because that's what I had on hand. I cheated and used a Pillsbury pie crust and it did not disappoint. Before I put it in the oven, I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples. I think that was an important addition. When I flipped it, it looked picture perfect...just like Chef John's. When I make it again, I will double the apples. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was looking for alot more from this recipe. Difficulties started with the clarity of the directions. I wasn't sure whether this called for melted butter or not in step two. The directions state to coat bottom of pan with butter, which seems to mean in order to coat, it needs to be melted however then, when placed on stove in step 4, it calls for cooking until butter melts. Which is it? When I went to flip the tarte in was stuck to the bottom of the pan. I had visions of a beautiful tarte and instead it turned into a mess. I ended up using a spatula to get it out and there was no presentation to it at all. To top it all off, it was bland. This needs some cinnamon and nutmeg. Will not be making again. Sorry Chef John. I am usually a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
First time came out great. Second time I cooked too long on the stove top and it carmelized too much (almost burnt) and turned too hard. Then it wouldn't come out of the pan. Thank goodness the first time was served to guests and not the second time. Be careful how long you cook on stove top. The entire pan does not have to have the deep caramel color (or it will burn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My first attempt at preparing Chef John's apple tart tatin was a success! I found Chef John's instructions on his video very easy to follow. Made it for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone LOVED it. Just returned from France where I had apple tart tatin three times. This recipe was the BEST of them all! Won't hesitate to make it again! Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have made this tarte several times and always with good results. I have a pretty solid pie crust, so have not made Chef John's. Two things I would note: Be sure to make sure the applies are really snug when placing in skillet; and do not get impatient while cooking. You want that lovely caramel to brown! It makes a huge difference in your end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
So easy when you watch the video and the ingredients are so basic. I was able to use up some apples in the frig and one pie crust that I had in freezer! I cooked in my iron fry pan and OMG what flavors that brought into it. Now going to brag on FB to all my cooking friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States