Apple Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a marvelous recipe. It was so very delicious that I have made 3 in 2 weeks. Being adventurous, it sounded kind of like a pecan sticky bun which I adore, so I included whole pecans just before the carmelized apples were to go into the oven. Then I topped it with some cinnamen and topped it with the crust. It was appreciated by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is incredibly easy and so-o-oo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiltingqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was looking for alot more from this recipe. Difficulties started with the clarity of the directions. I wasn't sure whether this called for melted butter or not in step two. The directions state to coat bottom of pan with butter, which seems to mean in order to coat, it needs to be melted however then, when placed on stove in step 4, it calls for cooking until butter melts. Which is it? When I went to flip the tarte in was stuck to the bottom of the pan. I had visions of a beautiful tarte and instead it turned into a mess. I ended up using a spatula to get it out and there was no presentation to it at all. To top it all off, it was bland. This needs some cinnamon and nutmeg. Will not be making again. Sorry Chef John. I am usually a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pam, if you watch his video on this recipe it shows exactly how he does it and takes the mystery of the butter away. We plan on making this with the added bonus of watching his video first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Harbeck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I loved the simplicity of the recipe and it tasted amazing. Take the 5 mins and watch the video...it really does help understand the instructions. I made minor changes. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and I used Gala apples because that's what I had on hand. I cheated and used a Pillsbury pie crust and it did not disappoint. Before I put it in the oven, I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples. I think that was an important addition. When I flipped it, it looked picture perfect...just like Chef John's. When I make it again, I will double the apples. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used medium sliced apples and packed them closer together. Also used shredded almonds and 1 tsp cinnamon. Being very naughty I used store bought puff pastry. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique
Home Town: Lahr, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Not an easy thing to make. Ranked this a 2 mostly because it isn't to get the pie to turn out. If you want that nice ruffle edge. I may have cooked longer than I should've in the skillet because I didn't have much "sauce". It tasted fine, but my preference would be to add cinnamon & double the sauce. Think we'll just stick with the regular apple pie even though this is easier by just quartering the apples instead of slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My first attempt at preparing Chef John's apple tart tatin was a success! I found Chef John's instructions on his video very easy to follow. Made it for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone LOVED it. Just returned from France where I had apple tart tatin three times. This recipe was the BEST of them all! Won't hesitate to make it again! Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very simple to make and so good! Definitely watch the video first, it will clear up any questions you may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really enjoyed preparing this tarte tatin..great recipe by the chef with clear instructions....the tart was crip and amazing even on my first attempt...I did reduce the sugar (I don't like it too sweet) and experimented with some additional berries ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States