Apple Tarte Tatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cakelady
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Looks nothing like recipe pic - that one has way mor apples. But followed video. First time over caramelized and it didn't come out of pan. 2nd time used different apples that shrunk way down. But looks delicious and will make again for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
GOOD EASY It is easy and does have just a pudding feel, but left for a day and it is great. I gave a 5 because simple doesn't mean less points for what it is, it is GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Didn't have a skillet I can put in the over, so I cooked on the fire in a non stick frying pan and the transferred to a pe dish. my dish is 8inch and hence I used only 2 apples, 1/3 cup sugar and 70g butter. Came out extremely tasty. Needs icecream/custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have made this tarte several times and always with good results. I have a pretty solid pie crust, so have not made Chef John's. Two things I would note: Be sure to make sure the applies are really snug when placing in skillet; and do not get impatient while cooking. You want that lovely caramel to brown! It makes a huge difference in your end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
So easy when you watch the video and the ingredients are so basic. I was able to use up some apples in the frig and one pie crust that I had in freezer! I cooked in my iron fry pan and OMG what flavors that brought into it. Now going to brag on FB to all my cooking friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
First time came out great. Second time I cooked too long on the stove top and it carmelized too much (almost burnt) and turned too hard. Then it wouldn't come out of the pan. Thank goodness the first time was served to guests and not the second time. Be careful how long you cook on stove top. The entire pan does not have to have the deep caramel color (or it will burn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Tasty and easy to make. I didn't have white sugar, but brown sugar. I used store bought pastry and it worked out nicely. Next time I'll try with the white sugar, which I hope will be tastier caramelized that the brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dysprosium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent. After watching the video I did some research on the tarte, learned it was originally made with puff pastry, which I happened to have on hand, so that's what I used. I made it with Honey Crisp apples and, as per other reviewers, I added cinnamon and also a dash of ground cloves. The tarte came out of the pan perfectly, although I have to say there was more moisture in my tarte than in Chef John's, which probably helped. Delicious, oh so easy. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving. It's really nice to have such a great looking dessert that one can put together so quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is my new favorite recipe. The video tutorial made it so, so easy and it turned out amazing! Thank you so much!!! I can't wait to surprise my friends the next time I bring something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written (including the suggested pastry) after watching the video. I think that anyone making this for the first time should view the video before beginning - it shows a lot that the recipe can't explain. Everything turned out very well and I was pleased. My rating is based more on personal preference, rather than how successfully it turned out. I gave a "4" because I found the Granny Smith apples a bit tart for my liking and craved a bit of cinnamon to add depth to the flavour. I will definitely make this again (SO easy!) and just change to variety of apple (Gala, maybe?) and add a bit of cinnamon. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States