Apple Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've made this twice now, Thanksgiving and Christmas and both times it was awesome. I parboiled the sweet potatoes, so the peels slipped right off, and I used melted butter and poured it over the whole thing after layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
After waffling for days deciding whether to try this or not, I'm SO glad I finally did! There are only two of us so I cut the recipe in half and added a little cinnamon, but followed the rest as written and it was great!! We'll have this again and again - thanks so much for passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very nice, subtle flavor. I didn't have the allspice, I went for the cinnamon instead. I think I'll kick up the amount of spice for next time because my first batch came out a little bland. Could be I had much more potatoes and apples than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mousecooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very delicious recipe. I didn't actually measure my ingredients, I just eyed it. But this is terrific! My husband had second helpings! I like being able to incorporate fruits into his diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really good. The apples are a nice addition. I plan on making this at Thanksgiving. A nice, sweet addtion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I used just 1/4 brown sugar and it still came out nice and sweet. I didn't have nutmeg, but used allspice and it came out great! my picky family enjoyed this recipe. cooking the potatoes in the microwave first saves a lot of time- but i would cut and peal them first- peeling hot potatoes is painful! also, the microwave doesn't cook through the center well- so i would try cutting them first next time! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this Christmas day for a large family dinner. Everyone who tried it loved it! Some were hesitant to try the apple portions but ate the sweet potatoes. Next time I think I'll make a crumble topping, the casserole isn't the prettiest thing, then the sceptics might give it a fair shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
If you don't like it sweet, cut sugar to 1/2 cup. We really enjoy this. Didn't have allspice so I used pumkin pie spice and it was amazing. Easy to make half a recipe with 1/4 cup sugar in a loaf pan. For halved recipe I used two med. sweet potatoes and two granny smith apples. Perfect when your aim is to impress. I sprayed with a little butter after the original 30 minutes and cooked 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
We had 20 people for Christmas dinner. I took a culinary risk and made this recipe for the first time!! It turned out perfectly and everyone loved it! I added a diced onion and some cinammon. Someone recommended doing the sweet potatoes in the microwave and then peeling them. This made the recipe so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States