Apple Stuffed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These were pretty good but needed some modifications. First off, I seasoned the pork chops in sage, rosemary, and thyme. Then I used dry stuffing mix but moistened it with chicken stock. I used the remaining stuffing to surround the pork in the baking dish. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
After reading all the reviews of this recipe, I decided to give it a try... It was delicious, and I figured out that the reason people feel that it's so dry is that they are most likely using DRY bread crumbs - not fresh ones... which are much moister. Try this - it's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was a very tasty chop recipe. I didn't have the time to make my own bread crumbs so I used store bought ones, the stuffing mix came out a little too dry when I mixed all the ingredients together so I added a 1/2 cup of apple cider to the mix it came out very juicy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantsville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Made some changes to this great recipe because my wife has to stay away from bread and sugar. I replaced the bread with a cup of Old Fashioned Oatmeal, 1/3 cup Splenda(sugar), 1/3 cup raisens, dash of nutmeg, then the rest of the ingrediannts. I used only 4 pork chops and put the leftover apple, oat, raisen mixture and spred it over the browned pork chops for baking. What came out of the oven was beautiful and taisted heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dano_77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe to alter. I used Apple-Cinnamon applesauce and Herb Stuffing. I just mixed the stuffing by eye and taste. I had no problem with the meat drying out. I did moisten the stuffing mix before stuffing the chops. I just baked mine for about 40 minutes on 315. They were wonderful!! Very flavorful, you could really taste the apple sauce and there was the distinct crunch of the onions and celerey. Great and pretty easy to make too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
The stuffing for this was wonderful. I ended up using 1.5 pieces of wheat bread for a half recipe. I chopped it into small pieces (kind of like stuffing) rather than making it crumb like. I think it added a little more texture. I didn't bake it because I'm always worried about over cooking them. I used the Stuffed Pork Chops III method of cooking them...brown on each side then simmer in beef broth. It takes less time and they come out tender and juicy. My husband said this is his favorite stuffed pork chop recipe now and would like it again. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I plan on trying this with some of the other suggestions. My stuffing felt very pasty while eating it. Plus, never having had stuffed pork chops, I had hoped that the apple flavor would be a bit stronger than it was. Is it supposed to be as bland as it was, I honestly don't know if I was expecting something that isn't supposed to be. I do see the possibility for tweeking to fit my families taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I have made this recipe time and time again and actually used it for a recipe to give to a bride to be at her shower on the recipe cards. It is wonderful but be careful not to over cook the pork chops. Just brown them on the stove top because if you leave them on too long you will cook them through and then overcook in oven. I use bone in pork chops - I find they have more flavor. I also make my own bread crumbs. I use a whole loaf of white bread- remove the ends and cut into pieces about 2x2. I put them flat on a cookie sheet and in the oven for about 10 minutes at 325 turning once so they are dry. Enjoy- this is a great recipe. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I am not a big meat eater, but I wanted to try something different for a special dinner I was making. This recipe was dry and bland. Did not taste the apples enough and meat seems overcooked at 1hr baking. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States