Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as stated. While is was a little sweet it was rather bland. It was easy to make but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My family enjoyed this. I had cooked up some onions that went nicely along, didn't use water and added allspice, salt and pepper and the flavors blended nicely without overpowering the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very flavorful & perfect for fall! We modified the recipe and loved the results. I made a cup of stuffing (used Pepperidge Farm) & tossed in 1/4 cup of dried cranberries, 1/2 diced apples, and 4 tablespoons of cheese. After stuffing the breasts, I boiled them for about 15 minutes in 1/2 cup of chicken broth, 1 tablespoon of butter, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Then, I transferred them to a small glass pan and sprinkled with about 3 tablespoons of brown sugar. Baked in the oven for about 15 minutes & topped with salt to taste. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very good, added crushed roasted walnuts to the stuffing, used only chicken broth, a table spoon of white wine and about 1 1/2 tbsp of brown sugar to the gravy. I will use croutons next time instead of bread crumbs. Also, added a handful of chopped apples I had left to the gravy. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe has potential, but lacks a cohesive flavor. Chicken and apples are somewhat bland foods and the cheese and bread-crumbs are not enough to bring up the flavor to where it needs to be. In addition, the flavors do not have enough time to mingle together to create a solid main dish. It tastes very "fractured." I would to try this again with some changes. I would like to add some apple-wood smoked bacon to the filling to give it a salty and savory flavor. Also I would saute the apples with butter and brown sugar to give them a more complex flavor before adding the other ingredients. I also personally like some heat, so I may want to dredge the chicken with some flour and cayenne pepper. This recipe has potential to have a sweet and savory explosion of flavors, but just can't deliver. I can't wait to attempt is again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I added a little curry, cinammon, onion powder as suggested. I didn't have cheddar so I used shredded mozzarella for the stuffing and it was good. I also just browned in skillet then did the oven thing like DGW314 suggested. My kids and hubby devoured it! Will add to recipe box...yum! Oh yeah, I did double the sauce just for extra to put on top for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My family and I love this recipe. I have made this twice and have followed the one review that is tagged as most helpful. It is a bit labor intesive but well worth it. Full of flavor and always a hit. Would recommend this for smaller gatherings or just immediate family. Made it for 16 and was hard to get the balance of all of the burners so that everything was done at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I think I'll double the gravy next time. I loved the flavor of the chicken with the apple mixture filling. I added some apples to the pan while cooking. Was great in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a very easy and good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maricopa, Arizona, USA
Living In: El Mirage, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I only gave this 4 stars because I altered it a tad. I stuffed it according to the recipe and then wrapped it in a piece of bacon. I was doing 8 chicken breasts so I didn't pan fry them I put then in a 350 oven in a deep pan for about an hour and added the juices in later, then to make the sauce I dumped the juice out into a skillet to thicken. I was serving 1 recovering alcholoic so I put his in a seperate pan and used chicken broth in place of the wine for his sauce. He said it was wonderful. I did have extra stuffing which I sauted in the butter before making the sauce, it added to it. I will be making this again. I served it with baked carrots, crash hot potatoes, homemade bread, a tossed salad, and for desert an upside down chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States