Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was great, but I added/subtracted quite a bit. I stuffed my chicken with granny smith apples, smoked gouda (sliced thin), sweet onion, and toasted pecans. I also took two suggestions from others: DO sprinkle some allspice on the inside of the chicken and atop your apples (I layered those first), and DO add some fresh tarragon leaves to the sauce, as well as your leftover onion slices and apple (I diced the apple portion I put in the sauce). Also substitute water with chicken broth- I only cook with water when I'm boiling noodles. Riesling is the recommended wine on this dish and it works really well. Get a dry one so you can cook with it AND serve it with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly_Kristyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great recipe! Easy and flavorful! Thanks! While living in Wisconsin, we loved to eat apple pie with a slice of good cheddar on top. This recipe is reminiscent of that. I sometimes add a bit of sauteed onion to the mix. Great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timujin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I agree with SIMPLYRAINAH, the extra spices and curry powder were a BIG hit! I used the extra sauce to saute some carrots and my husband LOVED this dish. He said it looks and smells like something out of a restauant. This was served to some dinner party guests and they were very impressed. It is a very quick recipe and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I did not really care for this but I followed other reviews and added brown sugar and cinnamon with some other spices. There were too many different flavors going on. I wish I had not done that and stuck more to the original recipe. Also my husband suggested cream cheese with the apple mixture. If I make this again I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Add cranberries to stuffing. Used Granny Smith Apples. Sauce evaporated quickly so I would either turn it down lower or increase wine and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Yum! I did add some chopped pecans and some chicken seasoning for a little something extra. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Wasn't sure if the BF would like it but, he did. I will probably make again; it's a great fall meal when apples are in season! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I read other comments and so I changed it as well. It was fabulous! For the stuffing I used half of a Pink Lady apple sliced into tiny chunks, a few tbsp of soy cheddar cheese, and 3/4 of a slice of toasted whole grain bread (I didn't have breadcrumbs), and some spices to kick it up (salt and pepper, poultry seasoning, and cayenne chili powder). I put fresh salt and pepper on the outside of the chicken once it was stuffed then cooked it as it says in the recipe. I also used all chicken broth instead of water and wine. I used extra to make more gravy since my husband loves gravy. It was delicious. It looked like it took way more effort than what it actually took. I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
TERRIFIC!!!! Wonderfully quick and easy meal to prepare for those with kids or a busy lifestyle. I made a few minor alterations.... 1) I used chicken breast fillets that are already cut as it saves on time and they're less expensive. 2) I used a GrannySmith apple and in the stuffing I added Cinnamon, brown sugar, all ground spice, black pepper and thyme (just a bit more than a pinch of each...perhaps 1/4 of a teaspoon). I also increased the bread crumbs to 2.5 tblsp and a little extra cheese 3) I used Sherry Wine for a robust flavour and chicken stock (low sodium) when cooking 5) When making the gravy I did use cornstarch but I also added the remaining apple chunks which completed it nicely. 6) At the end I added more wine and slightly more chicken stock as I like to have extra gravy and I cooked it for 20 min when 15 would've been fine so the liquid had evaporated more. I paired the chicken with Uncle Ben's Wholegrain Brown Rice - Vegetarian Medley and sliced the chicken to show off the stuffing. My 2.5 yr old gobbled up an adult plate size!!! Simply Excellent. It will impress anyone you cook it for. Thk you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wow!! This was amazing! The additions/alterations I made were: I substituted apple cider vinegar in place of the wine; I used a half slice of whole wheat taost crumbled up with 1/4 tsp (each) of oregano, cinnamon, basil and a dash of Stevia (healthy sweetner) in place of italian bread crumbs; I sprinkled the chicken with basil, dill weed and cinnamon before browning; I added a half cup of chopped apples to the skillet after browning the chicken (this is a great addition for the sauce!). My husband and I thought this was soooo good! I will definitely make it over and over again. To make it a meal...I had mixed frozen veggies with sliced sweet potatoes that cooked in chicken broth with garlic powder sprinkled well all over the potatoes to go with the chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My boyfriend and I really liked this recipe! We were pleasantly surprised at how the tiny amount of apples, cheese and breading made a big difference to a standard chicken breast. We have added this recipe to our favorites and will definitely make it again. The reason I have given it 4 out of 5 stars is because stuffing a chicken breast always gets at least a tiny bit complicated, and we really prefer "quick and easy" recipes. But that is a pretty minor downside considering that this is a different, fairly healthy recipe that can be made from things most people already have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States