Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Yum! I did add some chopped pecans and some chicken seasoning for a little something extra. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Wasn't sure if the BF would like it but, he did. I will probably make again; it's a great fall meal when apples are in season! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I read other comments and so I changed it as well. It was fabulous! For the stuffing I used half of a Pink Lady apple sliced into tiny chunks, a few tbsp of soy cheddar cheese, and 3/4 of a slice of toasted whole grain bread (I didn't have breadcrumbs), and some spices to kick it up (salt and pepper, poultry seasoning, and cayenne chili powder). I put fresh salt and pepper on the outside of the chicken once it was stuffed then cooked it as it says in the recipe. I also used all chicken broth instead of water and wine. I used extra to make more gravy since my husband loves gravy. It was delicious. It looked like it took way more effort than what it actually took. I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
TERRIFIC!!!! Wonderfully quick and easy meal to prepare for those with kids or a busy lifestyle. I made a few minor alterations.... 1) I used chicken breast fillets that are already cut as it saves on time and they're less expensive. 2) I used a GrannySmith apple and in the stuffing I added Cinnamon, brown sugar, all ground spice, black pepper and thyme (just a bit more than a pinch of each...perhaps 1/4 of a teaspoon). I also increased the bread crumbs to 2.5 tblsp and a little extra cheese 3) I used Sherry Wine for a robust flavour and chicken stock (low sodium) when cooking 5) When making the gravy I did use cornstarch but I also added the remaining apple chunks which completed it nicely. 6) At the end I added more wine and slightly more chicken stock as I like to have extra gravy and I cooked it for 20 min when 15 would've been fine so the liquid had evaporated more. I paired the chicken with Uncle Ben's Wholegrain Brown Rice - Vegetarian Medley and sliced the chicken to show off the stuffing. My 2.5 yr old gobbled up an adult plate size!!! Simply Excellent. It will impress anyone you cook it for. Thk you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wow!! This was amazing! The additions/alterations I made were: I substituted apple cider vinegar in place of the wine; I used a half slice of whole wheat taost crumbled up with 1/4 tsp (each) of oregano, cinnamon, basil and a dash of Stevia (healthy sweetner) in place of italian bread crumbs; I sprinkled the chicken with basil, dill weed and cinnamon before browning; I added a half cup of chopped apples to the skillet after browning the chicken (this is a great addition for the sauce!). My husband and I thought this was soooo good! I will definitely make it over and over again. To make it a meal...I had mixed frozen veggies with sliced sweet potatoes that cooked in chicken broth with garlic powder sprinkled well all over the potatoes to go with the chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My boyfriend and I really liked this recipe! We were pleasantly surprised at how the tiny amount of apples, cheese and breading made a big difference to a standard chicken breast. We have added this recipe to our favorites and will definitely make it again. The reason I have given it 4 out of 5 stars is because stuffing a chicken breast always gets at least a tiny bit complicated, and we really prefer "quick and easy" recipes. But that is a pretty minor downside considering that this is a different, fairly healthy recipe that can be made from things most people already have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
It was really good, I do not like chicken so this was different,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Wow, this was really good. Chicken was moist, and the sauce was really tasty. I added just a touch more wine and a little more butter. That could be why it was more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I give this three stars because the stuffing was very good. The chicken was too tough to eat. I went exactly by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I've made this a few times, with mixed results. The first two or three times, great! However, I was omitting the cheese. The last time, I used swiss instead of cheddar. Taste-wise, it worked. But consistency wise-- not so much. I'm not sure if my meat hammer just couldn't get the chicken breast thin enough or what-- it looked fine when I put it in the pan, but definitely didn't cook evenly. I've always used apple cider vinegar to sautee in (in place of white wine) and it's really delicious. It gives it a very seasonal feel-- this recipe would be great in the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was a good recipe. I guess I was hoping for more flavor from the apples and cheese. I think I will look at some of the other suggestions to see how to add to it. Thank you my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DES717

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 171-180 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States