Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this tonight and put a little twist that none of the other reviewers stated? If you make it with these ingredients, I promise it will not turn out bland and ordinary as some reviewers stated! Made for 4 chicken breast. The thinner (Min 1/4 inch) the better for stuffing! I used 1 cup of diced Granny Smith apples, 3-4 Tbs of brown sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 6 Tbs of quality Blue Cheese crumbles, this is the secret ingredient! I added 2.5 Tbs of home made Italian bread crumbs and stirred well. I put 3-4 tooth picks in each breast to hold well. I used a heavy stainless steel pan to brown the chicken well before I added the liquid. Did not use butter in pan, only Olive Oil. Once browned nicely on both sides, I added 1/2c of Chardonnay wine, and 1/2 c of chicken broth. I also added the remaining chopped apples I had left over (used 2) to the mixture and covered and simmered on low/med heat for 15 min. After 15 min I removed chicken and added 2 Tbs of brown sugar and 3 tsp of corn starch that was mixed with 2 Tbs of water, stirred briskly to a rapid boil. Removed from heat to let thicken. Served with mash potatoes and put gravy all over chicken and potatoes. The blue cheese mixture was amazing with the gravy! I don't like walnuts, but if you do, these would be good in the stuffing mixture as well. If I made the recipe as stated, i can see where it might be a little bland. If you cook it this way and think it's bland, your missing taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuhebmtg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was really excited to try this because I had all the ingredients on hand....and then discovered my hubby ate the last apple. So, I sliced a handful of cherry tomatoes (very thinly) and added them to the cheese/breadcrumbs mix. It was great. I also added a miscellanous pinches of seasonings. (seasoned salt, curry, black pepper and Mrs. Dash) Garlic and onions in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
YUM!!!! I prolly added more apple, cheddar, and bread crumb, but it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Didn't do gravy, I put it in the over after browning it...Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great recipe! Made some changes because of what I had on hand. I made crumbs with whole wheat bread and Italian seasonings and added a pinch of brown sugar and cinnamon like many suggested. I used mozzarella since that's what I had and gala apples. I butterflied the chicken, stuffed and rolled it and seasoned the outside with salt and pepper. I deglazed with apple cider and chicken stock since I had no wine and wanted more flavor than water would add. I served this with steamed brown rice and the sauce was amazing over the normally bland rice. I would suggest upping the liquid for the sauce to at least 1/3 cup since I love a lot of sauce. Two chicken breasts fed my husband and myself. I will make this again definatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This dish was very good. The recipe didn't specify what type of apples and I think that's important. Granny Smith apples would bring the taste of the stuffing out a whole lot more. Also, next time I'll season my chicken a little bit more. The sauce was great. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used blue cheese in one and smoked Gouda in the other. I took the leftover apple and cooked it in the pan w the chicken and added a touch of balsalmic chili vinegar...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMS2010

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
i did not have any wine so i used apple juice. worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobsgrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The chicken was very moist and an easy recipe to make. I just feel like there is something missing in the recipe to make it perfect. Maybe browing the chicken really good before simmering in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My husband loved this dish! I used shredded Parmesan instead of cheddar. The first time I made it, I made my own breadcrumbs. I just toasted some whole grain bread , then put it in my Cuisinart and added Italian seasoning. The second time I used PANKO breadcrumbs.They are truly the best kind of bread crumbs. I also made an egg wash and breaded the chicken with the Panko crumbs which was successful! In regards to the sauce, I added some brown sugar (1tb or so). Oh, and instead of water to simmer the chicken in I used chicken broth like other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States