Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought this tasted pretty good. I didn't use wine, I used chicken broth instead and omitted 1 c. of the water altogether, though I would use less of the cornstarch!!!! I had to use chicken thighs since I was out of chicken breasts, but it was still good. I think next time I will use the same basic ingredients but cook things my own way to save time. Everyone seemed to enjoy this meal. I'm only going to give it 4 stars though because it is more time consuming then I anticipated and I do feel it needs a little more something. Oh, I also added salt and pepper and garlic powder to the chicken while browning. Great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My boyfriend and I made this as part of our date night. We were very generous with the cheese and apples, so they were a bit hard to roll, but they came out well! We used our own gravy, which gave it some more flavor. Maybe next time I'll use the cheesy-apple mixture as a topping instead and not try to roll them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this tonight and put a little twist that none of the other reviewers stated? If you make it with these ingredients, I promise it will not turn out bland and ordinary as some reviewers stated! Made for 4 chicken breast. The thinner (Min 1/4 inch) the better for stuffing! I used 1 cup of diced Granny Smith apples, 3-4 Tbs of brown sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 6 Tbs of quality Blue Cheese crumbles, this is the secret ingredient! I added 2.5 Tbs of home made Italian bread crumbs and stirred well. I put 3-4 tooth picks in each breast to hold well. I used a heavy stainless steel pan to brown the chicken well before I added the liquid. Did not use butter in pan, only Olive Oil. Once browned nicely on both sides, I added 1/2c of Chardonnay wine, and 1/2 c of chicken broth. I also added the remaining chopped apples I had left over (used 2) to the mixture and covered and simmered on low/med heat for 15 min. After 15 min I removed chicken and added 2 Tbs of brown sugar and 3 tsp of corn starch that was mixed with 2 Tbs of water, stirred briskly to a rapid boil. Removed from heat to let thicken. Served with mash potatoes and put gravy all over chicken and potatoes. The blue cheese mixture was amazing with the gravy! I don't like walnuts, but if you do, these would be good in the stuffing mixture as well. If I made the recipe as stated, i can see where it might be a little bland. If you cook it this way and think it's bland, your missing taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuhebmtg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was really excited to try this because I had all the ingredients on hand....and then discovered my hubby ate the last apple. So, I sliced a handful of cherry tomatoes (very thinly) and added them to the cheese/breadcrumbs mix. It was great. I also added a miscellanous pinches of seasonings. (seasoned salt, curry, black pepper and Mrs. Dash) Garlic and onions in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
YUM!!!! I prolly added more apple, cheddar, and bread crumb, but it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Didn't do gravy, I put it in the over after browning it...Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great recipe! Made some changes because of what I had on hand. I made crumbs with whole wheat bread and Italian seasonings and added a pinch of brown sugar and cinnamon like many suggested. I used mozzarella since that's what I had and gala apples. I butterflied the chicken, stuffed and rolled it and seasoned the outside with salt and pepper. I deglazed with apple cider and chicken stock since I had no wine and wanted more flavor than water would add. I served this with steamed brown rice and the sauce was amazing over the normally bland rice. I would suggest upping the liquid for the sauce to at least 1/3 cup since I love a lot of sauce. Two chicken breasts fed my husband and myself. I will make this again definatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This dish was very good. The recipe didn't specify what type of apples and I think that's important. Granny Smith apples would bring the taste of the stuffing out a whole lot more. Also, next time I'll season my chicken a little bit more. The sauce was great. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used blue cheese in one and smoked Gouda in the other. I took the leftover apple and cooked it in the pan w the chicken and added a touch of balsalmic chili vinegar...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMS2010

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
i did not have any wine so i used apple juice. worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobsgrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States